Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
If you want the taste of simple homemade white bread using ingredients and equipment that you probably have on hand already, this is it. My husband thought it was a bit yeasty tasting, but this was probably due to my following the 'quick rise in the oven with the pilot light on' tip. A slower rise outside of the oven should cure this problem. I thought it was pretty good taste wise and texturally, especially for the little effort and time required to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Very good.....excellant the next day. Makes wonderful french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was so easy to make! And it tasted really great, too! I didn't make any ingredient changes and loved it! Thanks for a super-easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This was the first time I have made homemade bread and it turned out wonderful. My husband ate half the loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. I did decrease the salt as mentioned in other reviews. Very good bread to eat with a meal. This was very easy and I will make again. Thanks so much for sharing Ed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
EXCELLENT! I was going to try a different recipe, but didnt have any bread flour. So i made this recipe last night for dinner.I did step one like it said, then i mix with my hands thinking it was going to be to much for my hand mixer.I used half the salt because of other reviews and a little more sugar. Maybe i didnt mix enough but my batter was like a real soft dough. I let it rise in the microwave and then baked it. It was PERFECT!! Good tasting yeast bread. Cant wait to make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I found this recipe to be very fast to make and my whole family loves it. No kneeding so I really love to make it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This is a kind of weird recipe. It's not really a batter, and the mixing doesn't really work because it's dough, and the spoon just kind of knocks the lump around. It doesn't really taste like anything in particular, and the texture is odd. It is much easier than kneaded dough, but for me it was too much effort for an iffy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My husband's favorite. I use half of the recommended salt. I just don't like a salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I had been trying all sorts of recipes for Batter White Bread looking for just the right one for my family and friends. YOURS IS IT!! After baking, I placed it on a plate in a plastic bag and buttered the top. About five minutes after it had cooled, I took a slice. It cut so smoothly and tasted like bread from a bakery! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a simple to make white bread. It made my house smell like a bakery. I love the crust on the bread but you have to eat it while it's warm. The crust really softens up if you have it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States