Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Turned out great and no kneading. I like that. Very easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a wonderful bread! To have a dense loaf use the full amount of salt, to have a lighter airy loaf use only 1 tsp. I cut the salt down by a tsp like other reviewers and it rose quite well and tasted great. It got done cooking in about 30 minutes as well compared to 45. Highly recommended! No knead is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is a great bread that is truly easy to do. The texture was wonderful and the flavor kept us coming back for more. I agree, not exactly a "batter" bread, but who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this bread for the first time today and my family loved it! I only cooked it for 30min, don't know if it is my oven cooking faster or not, but it was long enough. Think I will make it again tomorrow! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie maskell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This bread was tasty. Husband remarked that the texture was more like cornbread, and I think that is accurate. I would give the taste 4 stars but for ease of making, and how much fun it was for my 6yo to help make, I'm going with 5. I won't make it in a loaf pan next time. I'll make it in a round pan, for more crust. The crust is the best part of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I varied the recipe by placing the yeast in a cup with 1/4 cup of the water, and added it before I added the last of the flour(also using only 1/2 tsp. of salt instead of 2 tsp, and 1/2 the sugar). This made it easier to mix and the yeast was more active. The missing salt was not noticed by anyone and I felt it was better for everyone who ate the bread. The children love it and want it daily when they get home from school instead of store bought bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
My husband had been asking me for years to make homemade bread. And due to the popular opinion that it is a little time consuming and with 3 kids I didn't want to do it. Boy, was I wrong. Me and my 3 yeaar old daughter made this recipe and it is awesome. My husband was so proud and so was I. My daughter did such a wonderful job and she is only 3 so anyone can make it. Will def use this recipe forever. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was disappointed with this bread. The texture looks great but even when sliced thick, falls apart. Like a cake, it also fell as it cooled. Flavor is decent but I think I'll stick with kneaded bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This bread has great texture is delicious and very simple to make .....my first loaf ever!!! I just made this bread a couple hours ago.I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that I only baked it for 35 min instead of the suggested 45. Browns very quickly on the outside SO PAY ATTENTION. Will be using this recepie often!THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I love it! I love it! I love it! Quick to make and tastes great. I've been using this for months now but am just now getting around to rating it. Sorry! I've also made it with whole wheat flour and am going to try adding flax seed next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States