Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Nice basic white bread. I reduced the sugar by half (I think almost all white bread recipes have too much sugar) and the result was an open texture, soft crust that kept well for the three days it took to finish it off. The softness prevented thin slices, but this toasted so well in the toaster oven that none of it was used for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This recipe is so easy to put together and the results are amazing! So delicious and fluffy. Initially, I was wary of a no-knead bread but this exceeded my expectations. I don't think I'll be kneading bread for a long time. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I have been making this recipe since 1972 when I recieved "Betty Crocker's Cookbook" as a wedding present. It is an easy to prepare yeast bread and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
great!!! it was so easy my 3 yr oldd daughter helped make it. We added 1tsp of rosemary,marjoram and thyme loved it thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily poulson
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Really easy and good. I cooked it today and already there isn't much left. Only issue was that the top got really brown when there was still about 20 min. left of cooking time. I ended up loosely covering the top with foil so it wouldn't get any darker. I wonder if the oven temperature should be down to 350 instead. Did anyone else have that issue?? Otherwise. Good and I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Wonderful! Two of us almost ate it all in one sitting. I did not think it tasted yeast like at all (although we buttered it and dipped it in soup). Easy, inexpensive, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Turned out great and no kneading. I like that. Very easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a wonderful bread! To have a dense loaf use the full amount of salt, to have a lighter airy loaf use only 1 tsp. I cut the salt down by a tsp like other reviewers and it rose quite well and tasted great. It got done cooking in about 30 minutes as well compared to 45. Highly recommended! No knead is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is a great bread that is truly easy to do. The texture was wonderful and the flavor kept us coming back for more. I agree, not exactly a "batter" bread, but who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this bread for the first time today and my family loved it! I only cooked it for 30min, don't know if it is my oven cooking faster or not, but it was long enough. Think I will make it again tomorrow! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie maskell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States