Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is a wonderful bread. Reading some reviews that said it was a little dense, I sifted the flour before measuring and also added the remaining flour one spoonful at a time. The batter is VERY sticky, so be aware. I also found the batter to be a bit salty, so I add less. Despite all of this, it is still 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, no substitutions or added touches, and it came out wonderful. This is both easy to make and tastes great - it was all gone within half an hour after I took it out of the oven!!! This bread will definitely be something I will make a few times a week from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this bread for a soup and bread night at our church. I did not take any home. I was asked to make it again for the following week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful bread and so easy. I have added a twist to it roll the dough out the width of the bread pan and long butter it spread cinnamom and sugar over then raisins, roll it and let it raise. Its the families favorite snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Belfield, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This bread was very easy to make and rose so wonderfully, all the way out of my bread pan. If I was not baking it on a cookie sheet under the pans I would have had a huge mess to clean up. I followed the recipe exactly and thought that the dough even after cooking was much too 'wet' almost. I will try it again but put into more than one loaf and try decreasing the water a bit. I love the easiness to it, I will just have to find the right tweaks so its not so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very good bread and very easy to make! I would reccomend this bread to everyone, you can't really tell the difference between this bread and the bread that you would need to knead! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Simple and tasty! I did heat up the oven, turn it off and then allow the dough to rise for about an hour. Also, others are right - 30 to 35 minutes is enough cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is an excellent recipe and easy to make vegan. Thanks to this recipe we no longer buy bread whatsoever - I experiment with different kinds of flour and spices to liven things up - it saves us money AND saves us the they put in store bought bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Was needing a quick bread to serve with my homemade beef veg soup today. I am an old school kneaded bread person usually, but needed something quicker. I love this recipe! Followed the directions exactly and it turned out GREAT. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I've never been a baker, but I wanted to try to make a bread and I dont have a b read machine so I found this recipe. Since ive never made a bread I found it very easy and my kids loved it! It was very tasty! The only part that was hard was mixing it because it was so thick but it worth it. I've made it twice already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States