Battenburg Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
It takes time and a little bit of patience, but it's worth it. Almond paste is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Made this cake for my boyfriend for Christmas. His family was from England and this was as good as his mother's - not an easy accomplishment. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
My husband always looks forward to Irish relatives bringing him one of these cakes when they visit, so I made this for him for his birthday. The cake was a little denser than he was used to and the marzipan coating was not the same bright, uniform yellow that the Irish bakers seem to be able to get, but all in all the cake was a success. It tasted quite good! It is not, however, something you just whip up in a couple of minutes. Set aside an evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLARKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I usually buy this cake from a local shop that imports British foods. This cake tastes just as good as the one from the store! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Have made this cake three times now, each time it was a great success. I found it easier to roll the marzipan out between two sheets of glad wrap, which also helped when covering the sponge. I also added almond essence instead of vanilla. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
GREAT recipe - easy to make. Coming from England, now in Canada, this is very authentic - however, you must spread the apricot jam on the marzipan with a pastry brush before you wrap the cake in it - this helps it to stick to the cake and it also tastes delicious! Try it with raspberry jam too for an alternative. Also, the cake mix looks too stiff even with a little milk - but you need the cake to be firm and hold it's shape - so don't be fooled !!! The recipe is "spot on". Excellent ******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This recipe was great! It tasted just like the mini-battenburgs I had at a tea in England. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I am only 14 but my Mum was a successful cook and I have entered many shows and cook at least 3 new things a week, cooking is definitely my passion and takes a lot of my time. This cake was luscios to eat and positively made my mouth water at the first bite. It was extremely light and fluffy, it is probably the nicest Battanburg I have ever made. The downside is I would recommend it only to fairly experienced as it is quite difficult to make nicely. Although it is fairly easy to make it taste nice the presentation is quite hard to get to look good. It is quite fiddley to make the different colours nice and even. If you've never made a Battenburg beforre don't be crestfallen if your first try looks a flop (mine was), it comes with practise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
i made this with my sister today. the cake itself was nice but it doesn't taste the same as Mr Kipling's battenburg! I was a bit scared to attempt the marzipan so i just bought some. I would do it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
The cake itself is very tasty, however the icing is too sweet, beware. We took the icing off and ate the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States