Bat Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WHEATFIELDS
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Hi folks, I'm sorry you are having such a hard time with these cupcakes. Maybe this will help. I frost the cupcakes and you can use actually any color or flavor but I usually use chocolate. I either break the cookies in half or cut them in half. The solid chocolate side of the cookie is facing towards the front of the cupcake. I insert one 'point' of the cookie into the cupcake with the wing curve curving out )( to the edges of the cupcake. If the cupcake is big enough I make them meet in the middle, if they haven't risen well, I will overlap them slightly. I put 2 'wings' on the cupcake about 3/4 the way in from the front to the back leaving 1/4 of the cupcake behind the cookies. Then I put an unwrapped chocolate kiss with the flat bottom up against the cookie wings. I give it a little shove to help it set - this leaves the point of the kiss facing front. All you have left is to put 2 dots of red icing on either side of the pointy nose and they are done. I will continue to try to upload a picture. I have been having some difficulty with that. I hope this helps. Wheatfields
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cimarron, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I thought I'd mention the problems I've had the first time around, so they can turn out perfect for you :) Like, use a sharp knife in a sawing motion along the whole width of cookie while cutting. Go SLOWLY! That way you don't run out or waste any cookies because they weren't cut down the middle correctly! Make sure you don't get the generic brand cookies either b/c they don't have a hole in the middle making the shape you need! Also, it helps to have the hersheys unwrapped and cookies cut for the 24 cupcakes (or however many - that's just the amount a normal cake batter makes). That way you can do them all at once, which means less handling (messing up your wings), and you can stick in the fridge! I also like sticking the wings INTO the cupcake and straight up, followed by the hershey kiss in front of it so the kiss doesn't rise up (tips tends to rise up if you angle it at all instead of putting them flat)! Everyone at my husband's office loved them and thought I was sooo creative. hehehehe Such a great idea that doesn't take too much work. Made these along with the spider cupcakes on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This recipe needs a picture of the finished cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Serra Zaccardelli
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
THESE CUPCAKES WERE A BIG HIT AT MY SON'S KINDERGARTEN HALLOWEEN PARTY. I WILL USE A YELLOW CAKE BATTER NEXT TIME AS MY WHOLE CUPCAKE WAS CHOCOLATE. THIS RECIPE WAS VERY EASY AND NOT VERY TIME CONSUMING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Serra Zaccardelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made these for my daughters Halloween party at school and they were a big hit! I bought white icing and colored it orange to make them look more Halloween-y. They were sooo easy to make and came out so cute. I made the mistake of buying Wal-Mart brand cookies instead of Keebler and when I got them home I realized they didn't have the hole in the middle which gives the wings their bat shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisa
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very easy to do and has a big impact. The kids and adults love the little bats =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made these for my ten year old daughter's class Halloween party... when her older sister saw them, she begged me to make them for her class, too! They were so easy to make and so cute -- the teachers and office staff at the schools raved about how cute they were! I bought plain chocolate wafer cookies (Nabisco) for the wings, but did use the Hersey's kiss for the head/face and red gel for the eyes. The gel can be dotted on much easier than tube icing plus the gel has a glow which makes the eyes appear "scary". This recipe will be a Halloween tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I made these for a classroom halloween party . They were the hit of the treats. WOW! so simple and convient ingredients, could not have been any easier. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I agree that there needs to be a picture or better instructions. I tried everything to make these look like bats. Several people told me they looked like turkeys so maybe I'll make them for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was a great and cute recipe. I took some to my daughter's preschool Halloween party and they were a big hit! I didnt have the red gel, so I used red tic-tacs for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States