Bat Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pixiesmama
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
So cute! I made these for a Halloween party and they were a hit! I tinted vanilla frosting yellow to look like the moon for these bats. I also used a red velvet cake mix, which really was cool for the Halloween/bat effect! Except the red does stain fingers! The only frustrating part was getting the cookie to break in half. I followed a suggestion of "sawing" the cookie in half, only to have some of them crumble. I found it quicker to just carefully break them in half. And it's ok if they are not perfect halves!! Even bats aren't perfect! Great idea for a quick and cute Halloween cupcake presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
great recipe, however, I have to believe that I am not the only one that had difficulty getting the cookies to break evenly. So, I got out a cutting board and my butcher knife, and poof!! much easier...I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Angulo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Franklin, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were super easy to make and turned out really cute. Made these for my 5 year olds birthday, which is on Halloween and the kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGGSAIDEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
awesome! so easy and super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
So easy to decorate, the kids had a blast helping out. When making the bat wings, the kids found it easier to saw the cookies in half vs pressing down on them to split them in half. When they pressed down on them, the cookie tended to break apart not necessarily in half. Otherwise, this was a fun project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breckan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
So easy to make and the compliments made me feel like a queen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Cute and popular at our bake sale event. If you make them the day before be aware that the moisture from the cupcakes softens the cookie "wings" and causes them to break off at the level of the icing. The next time I make these, I'll hold off on positioning the "wings" until just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
So easy and they came out looking terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Sooooo un and sooooo easy to make. Turned out perfect. Will keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My granddaughters and friends thought these were the cutest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States