Bat Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Fun and easy. Made them for my students for Halloween and there weren't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisa
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very easy to do and has a big impact. The kids and adults love the little bats =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We made these for our yearly Halloween party and they were a big hit! They tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful idea! Mine turned out sooo cute! Even better than the pics...and I am no cake decorator. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These were a hit at my sister's annual October Chilifest. Everyone loved the way they looked and they loved the creativity! I used boxed cake batter and regular chocolate fudge icing but decorated them exactly the same. Def. makes an impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
The only thing I changed was that I used yellow mix and colored it green. They were so good and a huge hit with the kids and adults. They turned out so great. I will be making these every Halloween! I'll add a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great cupcakes! They turned out so great people didn't want to eat them to mess them up! I used orange icing for the halloween complete look.. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These were adorable and the hit of the Halloween party. I made them first using a generic cookie (Shurfine brand) that had the necessary hole in the middle (makes the bat wing shape on the bottom of the wing). They were so popular, my daughter asked me to make them the following week for her class. This time I picked up the name brand cookie at Walmart. It was a mistake! The cookies kept breaking, no matter how gently I sawed them with a serated knife. It was very annoying and time consuming. I will make these again and again but I will not buy the name brand cookie with the holes in the middle. Definitely not worth it. Also, it looks super cute to use the striped kisses (Hugs). The black and white stripes look great. I put the red gel directly on the white stripe so they stood out much better. The translucensy of the red eyes was perfect against the white background. You definitely have to use red gel to get the best look. Also, be sure to put the cookies straight in at a 90 degree angle. A couple of times, I accidently slanted the cookie at a more upward angle and it made a huge gap between the head and the wings. Didn't look very good. Other than that, these cookies looked great. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
So cute and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pixiesmama
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
So cute! I made these for a Halloween party and they were a hit! I tinted vanilla frosting yellow to look like the moon for these bats. I also used a red velvet cake mix, which really was cool for the Halloween/bat effect! Except the red does stain fingers! The only frustrating part was getting the cookie to break in half. I followed a suggestion of "sawing" the cookie in half, only to have some of them crumble. I found it quicker to just carefully break them in half. And it's ok if they are not perfect halves!! Even bats aren't perfect! Great idea for a quick and cute Halloween cupcake presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States