Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I find that it helps to soak the rice in a bowl of water first. Also, when cooking the rice (I usually just use my rice cooker), I like to add a cinnamon stick, 2 cloves, and a couple anise seeds to give it a more traditional flavor and great aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is my favorite way to eat basmati rice! I used ground cumin instead of seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very good and easy. Just a tad bland, hence my 4 stars instead of 5. But good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Very nice rice. We all enjoyed the flavor of this. I added 1/2 tsp. salt. I'll use this one again. This is a dry rice and really is better with a saucy dish like curry. Thanks Kristine, this went really great with our chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This really does taste like the rice I've had in middle eastern restaurants. I used Texmati rice and the proportions were perfect (and in fact matched those given on the container). I toasted the cumin seeds before adding them as suggested by another reviewer; I find that whole cumin seeds have a distinct, fresh flavor that ground cumin doesn't have, so I wouldn't recommend substituting ground for whole. I was surprised at how much the cumin flavor permeated the rice! I served it with grilled chicken, but I think it would be wonderful with something saucier, like a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
delicious, simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I love this rice for how easy it is but also how dang good it is. Any time I talk about Indian food with any one I mention this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I didn't use the cumin seeds, but it was great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Good simple recipe. I used brown rice- just boil longer, 35-40 minutes. To add flavor, I used chicken stock instead of water and ground cumin instead of whole. Went well with Chicken Papadoris and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good, great with curry, esy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States