Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very good and easy. Just a tad bland, hence my 4 stars instead of 5. But good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Very nice rice. We all enjoyed the flavor of this. I added 1/2 tsp. salt. I'll use this one again. This is a dry rice and really is better with a saucy dish like curry. Thanks Kristine, this went really great with our chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This really does taste like the rice I've had in middle eastern restaurants. I used Texmati rice and the proportions were perfect (and in fact matched those given on the container). I toasted the cumin seeds before adding them as suggested by another reviewer; I find that whole cumin seeds have a distinct, fresh flavor that ground cumin doesn't have, so I wouldn't recommend substituting ground for whole. I was surprised at how much the cumin flavor permeated the rice! I served it with grilled chicken, but I think it would be wonderful with something saucier, like a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
delicious, simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I love this rice for how easy it is but also how dang good it is. Any time I talk about Indian food with any one I mention this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I didn't use the cumin seeds, but it was great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Good simple recipe. I used brown rice- just boil longer, 35-40 minutes. To add flavor, I used chicken stock instead of water and ground cumin instead of whole. Went well with Chicken Papadoris and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good, great with curry, esy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Chopped some cilantro into it after taking it off the heat. Wonderful base for the chick-pea curry or mango pickle (from a jar). We triple the batch and freeze for quick lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Wow how easy can it get?! I made the rice in my rice cooker as usual and then added the cumin seeds (not ground) and frozen peas when it was done. Closed the lid and let it mesh together for a few minutes and the peas were cooked and rice flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States