Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was a tasty alternative than plain rice. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a dash of cinnamon. I could really taste the peas though, maybe a bit too much. I think I will put a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good. I washed the rice though, with cheese cloth and running water to get rid of some of the starch. I roast the cumin on the stove before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Selley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineM
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good! Also tossed in a cinnamon stick and two cloves to replicate the rice served at my favorite Indian restaurant. Cooked up perfectly fluffy and delicious. Cumin seeds didn't seem to flavor it as strongly I expected, but they had been hanging around my spice cabinet for a long time. I don't eat white rice that often, but will make an exception for this dish! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I find that it helps to soak the rice in a bowl of water first. Also, when cooking the rice (I usually just use my rice cooker), I like to add a cinnamon stick, 2 cloves, and a couple anise seeds to give it a more traditional flavor and great aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is my favorite way to eat basmati rice! I used ground cumin instead of seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very good and easy. Just a tad bland, hence my 4 stars instead of 5. But good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Very nice rice. We all enjoyed the flavor of this. I added 1/2 tsp. salt. I'll use this one again. This is a dry rice and really is better with a saucy dish like curry. Thanks Kristine, this went really great with our chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This really does taste like the rice I've had in middle eastern restaurants. I used Texmati rice and the proportions were perfect (and in fact matched those given on the container). I toasted the cumin seeds before adding them as suggested by another reviewer; I find that whole cumin seeds have a distinct, fresh flavor that ground cumin doesn't have, so I wouldn't recommend substituting ground for whole. I was surprised at how much the cumin flavor permeated the rice! I served it with grilled chicken, but I think it would be wonderful with something saucier, like a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
delicious, simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I love this rice for how easy it is but also how dang good it is. Any time I talk about Indian food with any one I mention this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States