Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Who knew?? Such a simple recipe, soo good. Will make it time and again. Start with an excellent recipe and tweek it your way,it's still an excellent recipe. I read the reviews and add what I like after reading the reviews This time I added some dried cilantro, whole peppercorns and about 1+ tbsp butter and some salt. I'm not especially great lover of rice, however this was outstanding. I gonna go find the leftovers right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I make this all the time. It is exactly what they serve in most Indian restaurants. This does NOT need salt! It's supposed to be slightly sweet due to the basmati rice. If you're using a different kind of rice, it won't taste to way it's supposed to. You'll lose the essential aroma of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I love basamati rice and have been making it for years. I just wanted to add a little tip I use whenever making it, even as an accompanyment to a main dish. I add 1 tbs. of butter and half dozen whole pepercorns...it adds that little extra flavor w/out tons of calories either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The recipe was great, a little too much water, that I had to cook off, but it was truly a great side dish to my entree for the evening. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Delicious! I tried it with Jasmine rice, since I already had it, and added a couple pinches each of salt, garlic, and ground cloves. I also used ground cumin since I didn't have whole seeds. Went great with my chicken korma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astarr80

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Simple and oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
A couple of cardamum, a little bit less than cumin seeds, some salt. Be sure not to use basmati from the regular grocery store. Go get some from a Pakistan/Indian store. Tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khawer A. Khan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I really did not care for this recipe at all. I thought it needed more spice, maybe an onion. It was easy to make but it cooked in only 10 min, glad I checked it or it would have burned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
very good, simple recipe but more complex than serving plain rice. I sometimes cook rice in chicken stock to add more flavor. Very good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was a tasty alternative than plain rice. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a dash of cinnamon. I could really taste the peas though, maybe a bit too much. I think I will put a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States