Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I love this recipe! It takes a little tweaking and watching it to make sure the rice comes out the right texture, but the flavor is great and it's just like my favorite indian restaurant makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a good base recipe as written to build on. thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Excellent! I dry-fried the cumin seeds as others suggested and as my boyfriend doesn't like peas, I chopped up about 1/2 cup of Spring Onions and added them - it was great! I will make it another time with the peas for me as I know it will be even better! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Nice Recipe.!! can i use this Basmati Rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I added the cumin seeds along with the rice and let them cook with it. This turned out really well. The plainness of this rice lends itself well to a spicy entree such as Aloo Phujia. With something less spicy and demanding, I would suggest adding some ground cumin as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent, excellent recipe. I didn't have cumin seeds, so I used a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin powder. I also used chicken broth in place of the water. It was the most delicious and savory rice I've ever had!! I served it with chicken and veggie kabobs. It turned out well, like a restaurant dish! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Perfect compliment to tandoori chicken and plain yogurt, I used cumin instead of seeds -- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKAMES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Agreed. Such a simple recipe with only a few ingredients, yet so flavorful! I love the cumin seeds in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Who knew?? Such a simple recipe, soo good. Will make it time and again. Start with an excellent recipe and tweek it your way,it's still an excellent recipe. I read the reviews and add what I like after reading the reviews This time I added some dried cilantro, whole peppercorns and about 1+ tbsp butter and some salt. I'm not especially great lover of rice, however this was outstanding. I gonna go find the leftovers right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I make this all the time. It is exactly what they serve in most Indian restaurants. This does NOT need salt! It's supposed to be slightly sweet due to the basmati rice. If you're using a different kind of rice, it won't taste to way it's supposed to. You'll lose the essential aroma of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States