Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I haven't cooked rice before, but about ten minutes in, all the water was gone. more water then 1 3/4? Also, more peas! each pea was a like a bomb of flavor next to the rice. so adding more pea would be FANTABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very simple and easy to prepare, really liked the addition of the green peas at the end! I only had ground cumin, so had to sub that in, but this is one of those side dishes that would be really great with some spicier entrees - alone it's a bit more plain, nonetheless quite good! Can never go wrong with basmati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Cumin needs to be toasted, if making for company, ghee or oil could be used. I add the peas right in the beginning after dry roasting cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Certainly is easy. A little plain to eat on its own, but makes a great base for curry. Toast the cumin seeds first in oil, then add rice and water. Stirred in peas at the end which kept them nice and bright and spiced up the potato chickpea curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Per other reviews, I did toast the cumin seeds for a few mins. I also added a little ground cumin and salt (it may not be authentic, but I thought it needed it after tasting). Loved this with Indian Tandoori Chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very bland - had to add salt to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odinsride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Absolutely excellent! I even hate peas and I loved this as did my husband and kids. I used texmati rice and ground cumin. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Excellent if lacking a little extra flavor, needed an extra kick... I'll do it again w some saffron or cardemon. So much healthier than drowning rice in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I love this recipe! It takes a little tweaking and watching it to make sure the rice comes out the right texture, but the flavor is great and it's just like my favorite indian restaurant makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a good base recipe as written to build on. thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States