Basmati Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great basic recipe!! I added some garlic and red peppers to the onion mixture and pepper with the salt. It was a hit with the family! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Yep, this is basic but, it is good and works. Basmati can be a challenge sometimes and this was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was my first time making basmati rice and it turned out great. I usually use chicken stock in my regular rice and the bay leaf added great flavor. Thanks for sharing, will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a very good rice pilaf recipe. These are the changes I made: I added about 1 teaspoon of tomato paste and 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Best recipient ever. Not too fancy but a wonderful change to a plain side dish. Great flavour especially if you caramelize the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I used butter instead of vegetable oil and beef broth instead of chicken (I made meat loaf with beef, I wanted to match all the flavors of dinner together). I also threw in one minced clove of garlic in with the onion. The rice turned out great, the family ate every bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Pretty basic recipe. I would normally have added a can of mushrooms but wanted to follow the recipe more closely the first time. I did however use beef broth instead of chicken because that goes with the rest of dinner better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Easy and fast... What's not to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Very good-even my two four year olds, who are very picky eaters, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I make basmati rice all the time and this pilaf was wonderful with chicken, chops, all kinds of things. It is also very easy to make. I cook exactly as stated and its fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States