Basil Vinaigrette Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Tip: Strain the fresh basil out if you want to save this dressing for later. (I always refrigerate my leftover dressing and this one failed me when I saw the sad black-looking wilted basil floating atop a sea of oil a couple days down the road.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Love this recipe! I have made it exactly from the recipe with excellent results, and I have tailored it to my preferences as well. It turns out best when I add a little bit less oil and honey, and replace about ¼ cup vinegar with ¼ cup white wine. I use whole a couple of whole basil stocks, stems and leaves and run everything but the garlic through the food processor and let stand overnight. I then strain out the basil and add minced garlic. It is a beautiful emerald green color and the flavor is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I'm doing a low-carb diet - so I substituted Splenda for the honey. It was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I LOVED this dressing and thank you so much for posting this . Previous attempts at a great versatile dressing have failed and so it was refreshing to have this one at last. I reduced the oil, upped the vinegar and as recommended, reduced the honey. Tasted wonderful with lots of fresh basil over a pasta salad (pasta, red peppers, olives, onion, tomatoes...simple but yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
It was pretty good.....I suggest adding MORE vinegar and LESS honey. its a very simple dressing, but its good in a pinch and gets the job done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Great! I made this for my Thanksgiving salad and everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stillxling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This dressing was really easy to make and very tasty. It is also a great way to get rid of any left over fresh basil you might have. It has a really sweet flavor so if you don't like that than this isn't for you. This recipe made a lot of dressing so I put the remaining dressing in my own bottle and it has kept great in the fridge - it just needs a little shake up after the oil and vinegar have seperated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This is similar to a salad dressing we had in one of the Walt Disney restaurants we were in. It is great on salad but excellent over chicken. A nice change from mayo based dressing. I recommend mixing in a blender. Our newest family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYSTONMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Havelock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was quick, easy and DELICIOUS! I served it with a mixed green salad with dired cranberries, feta and pecans. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I used frozen basil because I did not have any fresh. I did not have fresh garlic so used garlic powder. Too much honey so will cut back a bit next time. Delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States