Basil Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My go-to tomato soup recipe. I also use just over half the butter that the recipe calls for but it's still rich and delicious. We often serve with grilled cheese (obviously) but it's good on its own too! This is on regular rotation in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
wasn't for me. Too heavy- could taste the cream too much. I prefer a "veggie" soup and save the creamy for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The taste and the simplicity of this soup gives it a five star rating. It is creamy and the small amount of sugar removes the acidity. I've used half and half, whipping cream and milk, it is just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was super easy, and incredibly delicious - it's been added to my list of favorite soups for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I agree, this is good base recipe but you will have to add seasonings to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I sautéed some mushrooms and garlic in butter. I also used Mrs. Dash to spice it up and added a bag of three cheese blend at the end. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made a thermos full of this for a Penn State Football tailgate with mini-grilled cheeses---the group loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Doesn't need any changes to earn 5 stars, though I do always cut it down to a couple tablespoons of butter. If I'm in the mood, I'll add onions, garlic, red pepper flakes, etc. The fact that it's great EITHER as it stands or as a base for experimentation makes it twice as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great soup, though perhaps a bit too rich for us. I used canned tomatoes already seasoned with basil and that worked fine. Next time might use half and half or milk instead of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yum! Mine turned out great even though I made some changes. Made this with 2 cans crushed tomatoes (didn't want to blend anything), 16 oz chicken stock, 1 cup vanilla almond milk (didn't have anything else), and 3 tablespoons butter. Omitted the sugar since I thought the almond milk was a bit sweet. Added 1 TBSP dried basil, and ground pepper to taste. Omitted the salt too. It was perfect. I'm sure it's even better as written above but I didn't want the extra calories from all the butter and heavy cream. Next time I'll try it with no butter at all. Super delish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States