Basil Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This soup is amazing made just as the recipe says. I don't add anything else but might put some spices and grated cheese on the table for others to add if they want. My way of making the soup smooth and creamy is to use an immersion blender after adding the basil and sugar. I hate all the clean up after usng a blender, so my immersion blender is my friend. As others have said, wait until the soup has cooled a little before adding cream. This recipe is so good that I'm making it next week on a ladies retreat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
While enjoying a bowl this soup for lunch, left over from last night, I thought I should review it. It is delicious! And so easy, too. I made it pretty much as written, adding only a few red pepper flakes. I did add some salt & pepper, but I used no salt added tomatoes and low salt chicken broth. That way, I can add only the amount of salt I want! We topped the soup with garlic & butter croutons and had it with grilled cheese sandwiches! Wonderful comfort food for a snowy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Easy & good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy and very good, pair it with grilled cheese and you will be in heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My go-to tomato soup recipe. I also use just over half the butter that the recipe calls for but it's still rich and delicious. We often serve with grilled cheese (obviously) but it's good on its own too! This is on regular rotation in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
wasn't for me. Too heavy- could taste the cream too much. I prefer a "veggie" soup and save the creamy for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The taste and the simplicity of this soup gives it a five star rating. It is creamy and the small amount of sugar removes the acidity. I've used half and half, whipping cream and milk, it is just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was super easy, and incredibly delicious - it's been added to my list of favorite soups for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I agree, this is good base recipe but you will have to add seasonings to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I sautéed some mushrooms and garlic in butter. I also used Mrs. Dash to spice it up and added a bag of three cheese blend at the end. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States