Basil Tomato Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
A great base recipe! I added about 4 cloves of garlic to some fresh oil after removing the chops from browning. I sauteed the veggies (without tomato) first, then added a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and 1/2 cup of red wine. Placed the chops on top of that, turned them 20 minutes. (total cooking time for chops was 40 minutes) Absolutely delish with mashed potatoes and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was a very good use of pork chops -- tasty and easy, didn't need to make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great resume for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOFDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was SO GOOD! Cooked this for dinner for my boyfriend and he was very impressed! I used flour instead of cornstarch. It was very tasty! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I have made this recipe twice now. First time as-is (except with 4 chops since there are 3 of us) and the second time I didn't have green peppers so I substituted an 8-ounce package of mushrooms, sliced. We enjoyed it both ways; one person isn't a green pepper fan so he liked with mushrooms better. I can't say the recipe is 'the best' but it is certainly good and really easy to prepare. With extra 'sauce' with just the three of us, I always make rice to go with this meal and serve the sauce over that. Serve with a side salad or green beans and you have a wonderful meal. I will definitely prepare this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made this tonight & really liked it. The only thing I did different was I used 1 can of stewed tomatoes (that's all I had) & 1 can of tomatoe sauce. I served it with rice. Next time I might try it in the slow cooker. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I end up making this recipe with oregano instead of Basil. I also place the onions and bell peppers right on top and cook them with everything the entire time. They then get mixed in with the sauce. I serve the pork chop on the side and the sauce over white rice. The raves I get from everyone are amazing. This is a very flavorful recipe and is rare in all it's rich (yet healthy) undertones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good. Moist and tender pork chops. Good flavor. Pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Great!! Basil and tomato makes thing so refreshing..A keeeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I have served this recipe to people who don't typically like pork chops and they are hooked! Come out wonderfully tender with a zip to the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States