Basil Tomato Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was so good i followed this recipe to the (T) and let me say me and my hubby lovvved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
WOW! We LOVED this! I used a slow cooker to make this and the pork literally fell apart! We had 8 center cut pork chops that I pan seared on both sides in butter and garlic from the jar. Then I placed them in the bottom of a crock pot. I then sprinkled them with salt, pepper and basil. I then poured the 2 (14 oz) cans of Italian style diced tomatoes over top and then placed 1 onion sliced into rings on top of that. I put the slow cooker on low and we had dinner about 5 hours later. I totally skipped that water, cornstarch thing. We omitted green bell pepper as we were out. We served with white rice, green beans and freshly baked french bread. When I make again I will serve with pasta and a salad. This was better than I had imagined. If serving for company I probably would bake so that the chops don't fall apart. DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks for the post :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made this for dinner and wasn't sure about it at first but it was great, even the fuzzy I don't like pork chops person loved them. I didn't have that size of canned tomatoes so I used a small can and a can of tomato sauce and it was great. Next time I will just use the tomato sauce with equal part water for the sauce. Have to make this now once every 2 weeks to keep them happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I hate porkchops, but in an effort to do something nice for my dad, I decided to make some. My mom came home and said "ewwww.. porkchops, what are you making those for???" But I made them anyway and expected them to be like the usual bland piece of chewy meat, except with some vegetables on top, but instead, they were great! They were the least chewy porkchops I've ever had and they had so much flavor! They even looked pretty with the sauce and side of asparagus I made on a plate.. it looked AND tasted like something from a restaurant. Even my mom liked it... she didn't say anything bad! In fact, I saw her sneaking some leftovers in her lunch the next day. We all agreed they were the best porkchops we'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe was a HUGE hit with my family! The sauce is great and goes well over rice as well as mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is really good and makes a great pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This was so good!the whole family loved it!Even as leftovers!I used a couple little cans of tomato paste instead of the cornstarch and added the onions and peppers during the last 20 minutes or so of cooking the pork chops,so they would pick up the flavor.Highly recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This was a great meal to serve to company. I did alter it a bit. I used thick butterf;ly chops,browned them after using a seasoned flour breading. Then put the chops in a 9x13 pan and made the sauce in the frying pan. I did thicken it but also added a tbsp of brown sugar. I then put the sauce over the chops and baked it in the oven. Served it with easy alfredo from this site, salad and chess chocolate cream pie from this site as well. The meal was a huge hit. All my mother did was complain about how full she was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious. This dish looks so beautiful when it's served that it would impress guests.....and it's sooooo easy. This would be a terrific "date" dinner if you're trying to impress someone! Serve with a merlot and you can't miss. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
We have made this many times, and it is a great favourite at our house served over rice. We use bone-in pork chops, diced instead of whole tomatoes and less butter. We also add the onion and bell pepper about halfway though, which makes the flavour even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States