Basil Tomato Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This recipe is probably delicious as is but I had to change things to go with what was in the cupboard. Scaled it to 4 people, but fed 2 since I only had thin bone-in chops. Didn't have peppers but used a 14 l/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes that had peppers in it. I also cooked the onions with the chops as others suggested. I had a package of cajun rice which I made so I didn't use the water and cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The sauce was nice enough to pour over the rice and chops. I also had some leftover corn which I threw in. Since the chops were thin I only cooked them for 45 min. It's a keeper recipe since it's easy and adaptable to what's on hand and also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe was great! I really liked the way all the ingredients blended together. My boyfriend thought there were too many peppers. He doesn't like a whole lot of them. So next time I won't use as many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
If I could I would give this recipe 10 stars. I have served it to family and friends three times now, and have given the recipe to three who asked for it. My husband is a Southerner, raised on pork chops, and this is his very favorite! I used tomatoes, basil,onions and garlic from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! My hubby isn't a tomato person and even he really liked it. I served it over rotini noodles, but want to try rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
this was wounderful, i will definatly make this again & again, im always looking for new things to make & everyone loved this.aloha from hawaii
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
We have made this many times, and it is a great favourite at our house served over rice. We use bone-in pork chops, diced instead of whole tomatoes and less butter. We also add the onion and bell pepper about halfway though, which makes the flavour even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is absolutely wonderful and very easy to make. I used fresh basil, which I think made it even better. It is one you must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
My husband loved this recipe. Here are my variations: I only had 3 pork chops, so I used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes, a whole onion, and the full amount of garlic and basil specified. Didn't have a pepper on hand, so I left it out, but I want to try it next time. I cooked the onion with the pork the entire time and added 1 tsp of fennel seed. With the fennel seed, it smelled like Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
I made these in my slow cooker with frozen chops for 8 1/2 hours. My husband said they were the best pork chops he had ever had. I also added a dash of garlic powder. Making them in the slow cooker really made this easy, and they turned out great! Really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
These were really good! A great new way to cook pork chops in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States