Basil Tomato Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This was a great meal to serve to company. I did alter it a bit. I used thick butterf;ly chops,browned them after using a seasoned flour breading. Then put the chops in a 9x13 pan and made the sauce in the frying pan. I did thicken it but also added a tbsp of brown sugar. I then put the sauce over the chops and baked it in the oven. Served it with easy alfredo from this site, salad and chess chocolate cream pie from this site as well. The meal was a huge hit. All my mother did was complain about how full she was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This was a very tasty recipe and made a beautiful sause for some whole wheat pasta. I eat low carb, my boyfriend doesn't. So A little whole wheat pasta for him and we were both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I feel bad giving this only 3 stars after all the great reviews. I followed the recipe exact except I only cooked the chops for 45min as per other reviews which said the meat came out dry. I would have cooked less time but they were just about an inch thick. Maybe I browned them too long? I browned them for about 5min each side then simmered in sauce for 45min and they were pretty dry. The sauce was very good. Served with rice and Garlic Green Beans from this site...went great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Excellent recipe- I served it over rice and there was none left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I cut this recipe in half and shortened the cooking time by about 15 minutes. I added sauteed mushrooms and some sliced zucchini. Very nice over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made this for dinner and wasn't sure about it at first but it was great, even the fuzzy I don't like pork chops person loved them. I didn't have that size of canned tomatoes so I used a small can and a can of tomato sauce and it was great. Next time I will just use the tomato sauce with equal part water for the sauce. Have to make this now once every 2 weeks to keep them happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I shorted the cooking time by about 15 minutes because I had a hungry family complaining. The meat was a little bit tough, but the tomato-basil sauce was awesome!!! I am watching what I eat, so I didn't add the corn starch, figured it was just unnecessary carbs. Didn't miss it. I had served some eggplant on the side, and I kept dipping the eggplant in the tomato sauce from this dish. I took the chops to work the next day, and it's a good leftover. I could see how this dish would also be great with chicken breasts or eggplant slices in place of the chops. Thanks, this will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This was a great recipe to make. Because this was the first time making this, I made the typical Shake & Bake just in case. Well, to my amasement, no body touched the Shake & Bake chops. I love the tomato taste and the spices added to it just complemented the recipe wonderfully. I have put this into my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSEE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
I had all ingredients on hand; it was easy to make; my toddler ate it; my husband loved it; the "salsa" helped make this a stand-out dish. Will definitely make again and recommend to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIPPERBABE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
I never like pork chops because they always turn out dry. This is a good way to "cover up" the texture. I used "basil & oregano" diced tomato. Instead of putting the pork chop back in the saucepan because charred garlic and excess pork fat, I fried the pork chops in a pan, used another skillet with some butter plus extra garlic. It's a good recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States