Basil Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe tonight and it was very good. I liked the flavor. I did read some of the alterations and followed them. I added lemon zest,increased the lemons to 2 full lemons- juiced, decreased the dijon mustard by 1 TBL and only marinated for approx 20 minutes. One thing which I think saved it from being to lemony was the amt of olive oil did not show when I printed the recipe so I did 1/4 cup of butter AND 1/4 cup of olive oil. It came out very good as I stated and I used fresh basil as I have a little herb garden. Also because I did not use the grill, I pan seared it and poured out the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Nice mild flavor and easy. Followed the reviews and reduced the amount of mustard and substituted dried basil for fresh. I'm sure it would be even better w/ fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it. The only change I made to it is I added the zest of the lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and both my husband and I thought this was bland. To be honest, mostly what we tasted was shrimp. I would not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was DELICIOUS! I used fresh basil from my garden (it's about the only edible item in my garden the critters haven't eaten). I'm planning on having my sister-in-law over for a BBQ this coming weekend and can't wait to serve this. She is a phenomenal cook so I'm always a little intimidated when we have them for dinner. I won't worry about serving this! Thanks, Gail! This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The whole family loved it. I used honey mustard since it's all I had and LOTS of garlic. I also added a drop or two of therapeutic grade lemon essential oil because I love the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have enough skewers, so I grilled what I could and pan sauteed the rest. I did use dried basil, only because my fresh had turned, but it still turned out wonderfully and had a great flavor. The recipe doesn't specify, but I used medium shrimp, and had WAY too many. Next time I will probably use Large or Jumbo shrimp. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Pretty darn good! Yah, yah too much butter----gotta splurge sometime, might as well be with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ericka Avalos
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made this delicious shrimp dish! It's to die for!! Yummy for my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
YES!!! Absolutely an epicurean delight! I give it 5?????. I made dinner for my cousin tonight and we thought we were in a world class restaurant. As for previous comments on "too much mustard"...........could not disagree more! It was not even close to over-powering. I also added way more fresh garlic than called for. MMMMM MMMMM MMM! Also after the prawns were finished marinating I warmed the remaining marinade and basted each side of the prawns while they were on the bbq. Recipe is correct when they stated 2 - 3 minutes per side.These were also fresh prawns & NOT previously frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States