Basil Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This marinade adds nice flavor without overpowering the shrimp. I used dried basil and it worked out fine. We thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Good - though lighter on flavor than we expected, particularly after reviews of "too lemony" or "too much mustard." Made marinade to recipe (substituting honey dijon mustard). Used only one lb. of shrimp (instead of three lbs.), as we like extra sauce. Marinated 30 minutes in fridge, and then sauteed shrimp in marinade, adding flour at the end to thicken the sauce. It was a nice balance of sauce to shrimp, particularly if you were serving over pasta. We simply like a zestier, spicier, more intensely flavored shrimp, so contrary to most reviewers, I think I would add more mustard next time around, and perhaps use standard dijon as noted in recipe, instead of honey dijon as others suggested. It was definitely good (and a safe bet if serving to a variety of palates), though not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good recipe for shrimp that doesn't take too long to prepare. I added more basil than called for and it turned out fantastic. The shrimp really absorbed the marinade without overpowering it. Definitely a good recipe for people who want to eat fish but can't stand the fishy taste - this recipe totally masks it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
It is fine, but sour taste is dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Followed recipe exactly, except I missed the melted butter part. (Cooking 3 dishes at 1 time) I thought it was outstanding. I will put this 1 in my regular rotation. This is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We marinated colossal shrimp in this for New Year's Day! It was awesome....cooked it on the grill and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is very good and for those that wonder about adding the mustard, trust me it works. However, I would reduce it in half. I also used all olive oil instead of melted butter (it doesn't need it) and increased the garlic as a personal preference. Nice flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this for dinner last night and it was a hit. It is a super quick and easy. The only change I made was to cut the mustard to 2 tablespoons because my husband isn't a big mustard fan...he said its one of his favorite things I've made lately. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Nice flavor. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States