Basil Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Gail, this was an awesome recipe. Is everyone afraid of mustard and lemon? Sometimes I think people are afraid to try things in a recipe and come up with their own ideas. The amounts of everything were perfect, and to all you people who think you know best, guess what, you all missed out. Why do you look for recipes if you change them totally before you even know what they taste like? Sometime a combination of ingredients surprise us when mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Simple, fast, delicious! Have made several times on outdoor grill as well as on indoor grill pan during inclement weather. Very flavorful and easy. Substituted butter with olive oil for a healhier option. Have served the basil shrimp as entree as well as part of an orzo pasta salad-- delicious! Can serve warm or cold for a great summer time option. My kids begged me to pack them leftovers for school lunches! Was just as flavorful when I didn't have an hour to marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excellent, fast and easy. I did not grill it but rather sauteed everything (including marinade) in a large skillet and served it over spaghetti noodles. My slight modification was to add coconut oil in place of the olive oil and I used basil paste instead of fresh basil. I also thickened the marinade with cornstarch and tossed in some brocolli. My husband cannot eat garlic so I left it out and it still had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Absolutely amazing, the more basil the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
it was good. I took advice from other users and used all olive oil. I cut down the mustard by a tablespoon. I used dried basil. I used small shrimp and next time I will use the larger shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHART22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Made this as directed tonight and got raves all around the table. Will return to it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Love this recipe and make it regularly. Interestingly we've only done it once on the BBQ. Our preference is to prepare as directed, marinate for a few hours in the fridge, then I do a quick sauté of the shrimp in a shallow skillet, marinade and all. Serve with basmati or jasmine rice and some sautéed mushrooms or green beans and its a great (and favourite) meal of ours. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Brooks Fernandez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clevedon, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
love this recipe. i dont have Dijon mustard so use mustard powder instead. the result is still great. maybe Dijon mustard will make difference but i don't know. will try when i have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I only used 1 TBSP dijon mustard. I used 2 TBSP lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlih

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was delicious! My son, who is incredibly picky, ate every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States