Basil Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
If this recipe had been called "Mustard Butter Shrimp", it would have gotten 5 stars. The flavor was really great, but I didn't get much basil in my Basil Shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
this was so delicious! i cut the recipe in half and used it on a little over a pound of shrimp.. i used all oil, lime instead of lemon, regular mustard, and dried basil.. doubled the garlic by accident.. marinated for about 20 minutes and cooked the shrimp in the marinade on my stovetop.. scooped the shrimp out and cooked some cauliflower florets in the broth.. it was to die for.. i literally licked my plate clean.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved it. Hard to find fresh basil in small towns but worth it when can. So delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe, cutting the amount of mustard down as suggested by another review.. Grilled both large sea scallops and giant prawns.. They were equally amazing and it would be hard to say which was best.. For someone not familiar with grilling scallops…they can be a bit tricky and it is easy to overcook..They cook faster than prawns, so remove when they are a bit undercooked..they will continue to cook on their own while the prawns finish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I just wanted to say I wrote this down and didn't write down the name and kicked my self because I couldn't find it. Very good though the garlic and lemons come in to play very well. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Really good! However, decided to brown the shrimp in a sauce pan after marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this recipe as directed with no changes. I did not think that the mustard flavor was too strong, as some others suggested. The strong mustard aroma of the marinade mellowed on the grill and I mostly tasted the basil and the shrimp in the finished dish. This was a mildly spiced shrimp that would pair nicely with just about any side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Best base recipe ever. I baked my shrimp in the marinade instead of skewers. The flavor was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott H Granse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Esko, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by F Kompani
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Super easy and super quick! Came across this recipe while looking for a super quick paleo - friendly meal. With no attention to measuring, I just put together as much of each ingredient as I liked and made enough marinade to coat the shrimps completely. Let it rest for about ten minutes and then tossed the whole thing into a hot pan. Voilà. Just right for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F Kompani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I served this at a cocktail party to rave reviews. It was so simple to make! I didn't bother putting them on skewers, though. Instead I put them in a single layer in a grill basket and just kept turning them with the spatula. The cook time was just a minute or two longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States