Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
I absolutely loved it--I substituted yoghurt for buttermilk and didn't have "fresh" basil, but I baked the cornbread in a giant cast iron skillet and it was terrific! My 10-year-old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
We operate a parrot sanctuary (www.rescueme.org) and parrots love corn bread; corn and peppers. We often bake cornbread for them with pepper. This was a huge hit. We added habanero peppers (their fav)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe to a "T"! and...... you do NOT NEED TO TWEAK THIS RECIPE! holy cannoli but it is fabulous the way it is! The only thing I did was half the recipe as it was just me enjoying it! I want to THANK Doug Matthews for putting me onto this recipe! I am simply bowled over by how good it is!!! (Thanks Doug!) **Note, as per another reviewer, the entire batch will not fit into a 9x9 pan, I used a 9x9 but HALVED the recipe and it fit perfectly, so you will definitely need a larger pan if making the batch as stated in the recipe. Next time I am making muffins though - mmmmmm, this really is a yummy, savoury cornbread that I am glad was given to me! ;) ***Edit~ I made these again (March 30th) but baked them in muffin tins, if anyone is contemplating that, it took 15 minutes for mine to be done, OMG, still the same awesome taste! :D Clear winner here of a recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
This is almost a side dish in itself. Lots of ingredients for kids to help mix and what a final result. It goes to a lot of "Pot Luck" dinners with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Outstanding with Low Country Shrimp Boil; not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Super bread for serving with a hearty soup - try it with Colourful Corn Chowder (i found it on here) also really good with a barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used 2 pkgs of Jiffy Mix (for a double recipe), thus omitting the sugar and baking powder (which are already in Jiffy) as well as the cornmeal. I doubled the recipe but left out 2 eggs (because I was short)--but they were not needed. It was truly wonderful, though almost souffle-like. I won the "side dish" award at our BBQ ribs cookoff--10 bucks, ya'll! A definite crowd pleaser and very unusual. P.S. No need to serve it with butter--it's rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was excellent, even gluten-free style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I loved this....had to use dried basil b/c my basil plant is a little small right now....but basil definitely adds a beautiful taste to this.....best cornbread recipe ever....think i might try jalapeno peppers instead of roasted red peppers....can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyesfromphilly
Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
YUM! This is a delicious savory cornbread. I didn't have any fresh basil, so I just used some dried, but I bet it would be even better with the fresh. I used drained canned corn and added some chopped jalapenos for some spiciness and an extra kick. However, I don't know how this would possibly fit into a 9x9 pan, I used an 11x7 and it was FULL. Very moist and flavorful bread! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States