Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Nice flavors... the fresh basil is a tasty idea in cornbread. I think it's important in this recipe. I made it in a 9" round pan and it was FULL - it makes a big loaf. We had a lot left, even though I made it for a dinner party. Unfortunately, not as good the second (or third) day. If I make it again, I will halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Add jalepenos for an extra zing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Super bread for serving with a hearty soup - try it with Colourful Corn Chowder (i found it on here) also really good with a barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very tasty. Like the submitter says, just add whatever goodies you feel like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I loved this -- the other 3 people in my family didn't! I think it's because they are used to either sweet corn bread or a regular corn bread with a butter/honey spread. I really think it's the basil that makes it! (well, and the cheese!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was delicious. I had company and recieved lots of compliments. It did, however, take FOREVER to make, and I am not usually one to complain about the length of time it takes to prepare anything. Another note: put it in the refrigerator. Mine spoiled within a day and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
I absolutely loved it--I substituted yoghurt for buttermilk and didn't have "fresh" basil, but I baked the cornbread in a giant cast iron skillet and it was terrific! My 10-year-old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I really did enjoy the final product but it took a little longer to make than I like for a weekday meal. My children were not very fond of this cornbread though I thought it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
We operate a parrot sanctuary (www.rescueme.org) and parrots love corn bread; corn and peppers. We often bake cornbread for them with pepper. This was a huge hit. We added habanero peppers (their fav)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Outstanding with Low Country Shrimp Boil; not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States