Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Excellent!! Wouldn't change a thing-everyone loved it! This will be my standard cornbread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I skipped the corn and followed the rest of the recipe with no changes. They're beautiful, fragrant, "confetti-like" muffins with loads of great flavor. The basil in particular, leaves its mark. The pepperjack cheese, however, was not as predominant as I would have expected, either in taste or appearance. I baked this as muffins - one half recipe without the corn yielded 6 traditional-sized muffins. This recipe cerrtainly gives new meaning and flair to the word "cornbread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't have buttermilk so I just made some with vinegar and whole milk in the microwave. I also forgot to add the corn (so we used it as a side dish!). Still came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
WOW, a new twist on cornbread! I made half this recipe into muffins and got 12 nice size muffins. I also used an entire 2 oz. jar of pimentos, which after all are red bell peppers, in my half recipe. I can’t imagine using half that amount. I baked my muffins about 16-17 minutes. This recipe is a little time consuming, at least for me, but if you have the time, give this a try. It’s a new and different way to enjoy cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I realized that I only had 2 eggs in the middle of making this recipe. It still came out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is probably the best cornbread I've ever eaten. I actually baked it in a 6-quart crock pot for 2.5 hours. (Just butter the inside of the crock pot and put the batter directly in.) I didn't put in the frozen corn. I substituted about a tablespoon of dried basil for the fresh. Don't skip the basil, it gives it wonderful flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe to a "T"! and...... you do NOT NEED TO TWEAK THIS RECIPE! holy cannoli but it is fabulous the way it is! The only thing I did was half the recipe as it was just me enjoying it! I want to THANK Doug Matthews for putting me onto this recipe! I am simply bowled over by how good it is!!! (Thanks Doug!) **Note, as per another reviewer, the entire batch will not fit into a 9x9 pan, I used a 9x9 but HALVED the recipe and it fit perfectly, so you will definitely need a larger pan if making the batch as stated in the recipe. Next time I am making muffins though - mmmmmm, this really is a yummy, savoury cornbread that I am glad was given to me! ;) ***Edit~ I made these again (March 30th) but baked them in muffin tins, if anyone is contemplating that, it took 15 minutes for mine to be done, OMG, still the same awesome taste! :D Clear winner here of a recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
YUM! This is a delicious savory cornbread. I didn't have any fresh basil, so I just used some dried, but I bet it would be even better with the fresh. I used drained canned corn and added some chopped jalapenos for some spiciness and an extra kick. However, I don't know how this would possibly fit into a 9x9 pan, I used an 11x7 and it was FULL. Very moist and flavorful bread! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I loved this....had to use dried basil b/c my basil plant is a little small right now....but basil definitely adds a beautiful taste to this.....best cornbread recipe ever....think i might try jalapeno peppers instead of roasted red peppers....can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyesfromphilly
Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was excellent, even gluten-free style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States