Basil Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is my favorite pork recipe! It's so easy to throw together and the results are wonderful! Thank you Lisa for such a yummy recipe! The only thing I've changed is to add a dash or two of garlic powder to the rub and omit the chili powder b/c of the little ones. A tip I learned the first time I made these is to do all the chops at once if you can. The sugar will burn if it sets on the heat too long...lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeLiz09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Not a lot of flavor and I even added more chili powder. The sugar burned quickly, even at a low temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These were good, not great but quick. I rubbed the mixture (as written except i used slightly more chili powder) on the chops and left them in the fridge for a couple of hours until ready for them. Don't like to fry to much so broiled them in the oven which is also faster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've made this dish twice in the past two months! My husband loved it! The combination of the basil along with the kick of the chili powder is great. And the brown sugar that caramelizes into a sauce is so delicious. The first time I made this it came out absolutely perfect. The second time I accidentally bought the chops a little thinner, so they cooked down smaller - but still tasty. This is now a permanent dish in my recipe roster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
taste = 4, very easy = 5. Browned on stovetop, baked in oven at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Quick, easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very moist, tender, delicious pork chops, and a nice alternative to braving the chill outside and putting them on the grill. Followed the recipe exactly (halved the brown sugar though), but I up'ed the EVOO a bit, and marinated the pork chops in the sugar/seasoning mixture for several hours b4 cooking them. The timing was accurate (7 min. per side) for my skinny, boneless pork chops. The flavor was subtle (not necessarily a bad thing), but I think next time I'll go w/ more chili powder, and possibly some garlic, but overall, the recipe was very good indeed, and one that I'd gladly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These were tasty but still a little too sweet. I think its the combination of sweet basil and brown sugar. I followed as written. I will try again and maybe add more chilli powdwr and less of the sweet ingred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These turned out really well. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added some Cayenne and a little extra chili powder since we really like spicy food and a few other reviewers recommended it. They still weren't very spicy, but they were very very good! Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was a not to my liking. It almost had the taste of Chorizo but worse. Dont bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States