Basil Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was just okay. I followed the recipe exactly, but in the end, the chops tasted like breakfast sausage, it was just a little too strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent tasty pork dish! I followed the instructions as followed and it turned out great. I would however reduce the amount of brown sugar by 1/3 or even by half to reduce a bit the amount of sweetness and to accentuate the taste of the chili and basil. May I suggest to include cumin to the mix or replace the basil with cumin or even include fresh mushrooms to the mix although this is not a must. It's tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
incredible! The only thing I did different was cooked them on the grill. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This came out pretty good. I added minced garlic and chili powder, but it still seemed to lack seasoning. The chops were very juicy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I just loved this recipe! It was quick and easy. Delicious just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was delicious!! I did make a few adjustments. My husband and I don't like spicy, and I didn't have any chili powder anyway so I added some onion powder and some lemon-and-pepper that I had and also upped the salt to one teaspoon instead of just half. We loved it!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this and what a fast, delicious weeknight meal!! I think anyone would be making a big mistake cutting back on the sugar as it's intended to help glaze the chop and most of it gets left in the bottom of the pan, anyway. I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I served them with roasted red potatoes and fresh green beans. Fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Quite possibly the best pork chop I've ever had. I think I over cooked it a bit, but that was my fault. Still, everyone, even my picky daughter who won't eat meat ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
What a disappointment. (I was really looking forward to this.) I only altered the recipe by adding some cayanne and garlic powder as others suggested. None of the flavors were noticeable except for the brown sugar which carmalized too much (I cooked a little higher than I should have). I will probably try this recipe again with more spices, and a bit less brown sugar (and of course on a slightly lower heat setting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I've used this recipe so many times since finding it. It is simple and quick, yet the rub is so versatile with all kinds of pork and different cooking methods, including baking and grilling. Great on pork tenderloin on the grill. The rub gives the pork a wonderful sweet and smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States