Basil Pesto Sunshine Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delish!! Made on sourdough with homemade pesto, added roasted red peppers, spinach and omitted mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These are pretty good sandwiches, especially when trying to find a veggie option. We forgot the basil leaves and each person customized them. My kids liked the mayo with the basil pesto best. We didn't find sun-dried tomato pesto so we chopped sun dried tomatoes. To roast the red peppers I halved and seeded a pepper and put it under the broiler at 500 for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Wow - what a sandwich! I toasted the bread and used Hellman's light mayo along with the basil pesto. I left out the sundried tomato pesto and instead opted to add regular sundried tomatoes. I also used thick slices of fresh mozzarella instead of feta. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
A yummy sandwich and a great option for lunch. The only change I made was to toast the bread, other than that I followed the recipe and enjoyed every bite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Very yummy! I did add avocado slices simply because I think they are awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this for a laid-back dinner with some vegetarian friends and it was awesome! They loved it, my carnivorous husband loved it, and even our 1 year old babies loved it! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
"This is one of the tastiest things I have eaten." My husband. "Yummy!!!" I say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I added some thinly sliced roasted chicken. Forgot to add the extra basil but I think the pesto was more than enough. Did not bother with the mayo. I did not have the sun-dried tomato pesto, but did use slivered sun-dried tomato pieces. This sandwich taste better if made ahead, wrapped tightly in plastic and then refrigerated to let the flavors get a chance to develop. A good sandwich for the picnic basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe was a real winner with my husband and I. I used my homemade whole wheat focaccia, I left out the mayo and I used my homemade basil pesto. They kept nicely in the fridge for several days wrapped tightly in foil so my husband could take them to work. I'll definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I first tried this out a couple of years ago and it's been a staple in our house ever since. My husband often requests it as a light summer dinner and he's a big meat eater. It works great with either feta or mozzarella. I also like to grill it in our griddler for a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States