Basil Pecan Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious! I used toasted pecans. My pesto has a brownish color with flecks of the bright green basil. I used some on pasta and froze some for later use. Great recipe - I will be using it again! Update - I made this again with raw pecans. This time I got the lovely green color we all come to expect from a good pesto. I love what the sweetness of the pecans do for this pesto. Truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Which type of basil leaves do you use? I grow sweet basil, boxwood basil and spicy basil. Which would you recommend?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good!! I had never used pecans for this and it was exellent!. Anne-in- Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was so happy to find a recipe using pecans instead of pine nuts since realizing how expensive pine nuts are. I did not toast the pecans and the pesto stayed green and was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Thanks for the idea of using pecans! I will make this again. FYI, I toasted the pecans in the microwave first to add more depth of flavor. (Melt 2 tsp to 1 tablespoon butter or margarine in medium bowl; toss in 1 1/2 cup nuts. Spread nuts out evenly on large microwave safe plate and toast 1 minute at a time, stirring at those intervals until a nice toasty smell develops ~2-5 minutes. Check often as microwaves differ of course. Also, if the nuts seem too crowded, toast in more than one batch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. Used pecans fresh from Georgia and basil freshly harvested from my garden. Followed the proportions of the recipe exactly. I didn't have parmesian cheese so I subbed pecorino romano and it worked out fine. The recipe is silent as to which kind of olive oil to use-- I decided not to use EVOO in favor of lighter olive oil. This pesto has a lovely delicate flavor that my family enjoyed served with crispy gnocchi. Glad to have a delicious affordable alternative to pinenuts. Thank you grettagirl for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I always have a TON of basil in the summer. One day recently I wanted to make pesto, but only had pecans on hand. I saw that someone else had made it this way, so I knew I was good to go. It was tasty and just as good as traditional pine nut basil pesto. Thanks for confirming what I thought would be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was my first try at making pesto and it turned out wonderful. So glad I tried this recipe. I tried several others after this one, but none were nearly as good. I made a big batch and froze it in ice cube trays. The thawed pesto was very good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I had to register just to say how great this recipe is! I absolutely loved it...better than any pesto I've had before :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Since I had lots of basil in my garden and a bag of fresh pecans I searched for this recipe. This is a wonderful pesto! I plan on making it again and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States