Basil Pecan Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good!! I had never used pecans for this and it was exellent!. Anne-in- Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious! I used toasted pecans. My pesto has a brownish color with flecks of the bright green basil. I used some on pasta and froze some for later use. Great recipe - I will be using it again! Update - I made this again with raw pecans. This time I got the lovely green color we all come to expect from a good pesto. I love what the sweetness of the pecans do for this pesto. Truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Which type of basil leaves do you use? I grow sweet basil, boxwood basil and spicy basil. Which would you recommend?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Thanks for the idea of using pecans! I will make this again. FYI, I toasted the pecans in the microwave first to add more depth of flavor. (Melt 2 tsp to 1 tablespoon butter or margarine in medium bowl; toss in 1 1/2 cup nuts. Spread nuts out evenly on large microwave safe plate and toast 1 minute at a time, stirring at those intervals until a nice toasty smell develops ~2-5 minutes. Check often as microwaves differ of course. Also, if the nuts seem too crowded, toast in more than one batch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was so happy to find a recipe using pecans instead of pine nuts since realizing how expensive pine nuts are. I did not toast the pecans and the pesto stayed green and was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. Used pecans fresh from Georgia and basil freshly harvested from my garden. Followed the proportions of the recipe exactly. I didn't have parmesian cheese so I subbed pecorino romano and it worked out fine. The recipe is silent as to which kind of olive oil to use-- I decided not to use EVOO in favor of lighter olive oil. This pesto has a lovely delicate flavor that my family enjoyed served with crispy gnocchi. Glad to have a delicious affordable alternative to pinenuts. Thank you grettagirl for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
The pecans definetly make this recipe! Truly outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I had to register just to say how great this recipe is! I absolutely loved it...better than any pesto I've had before :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made pesto using almonds but wasn't sure about pecans. Googled it and came up with this recipe. Made it tonight and Yum! I tend to have pecans and almonds on hand so now I know I can use both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I always have a TON of basil in the summer. One day recently I wanted to make pesto, but only had pecans on hand. I saw that someone else had made it this way, so I knew I was good to go. It was tasty and just as good as traditional pine nut basil pesto. Thanks for confirming what I thought would be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States