Basil Parmesan Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Brought this to Easter & everyone loved it! Could not find sun dried tomato paste, so used sun dried tomato pesto I found and it was great! I covered the ball with pine nuts after removing it from the bowl. Have some extra crunch when eating & also a great presentation. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I just made this for a party and it was a HUGE hit!! I used about 4 small cloves of minced garlic...and, because I didn't have any fresh parmesan, I used another white, harder cheese I had on hand. I couldn't find "sundried tomato paste," so I used some bottled store bought sundried tomatoes in Olive Oil & Italian spices, and just chopped those up--then, like many other reviewers, kept that as a separate layer all by itself instead of mixing it with the basil & spinach in the food processor. This was seriously delicious and i will make it for many future parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amelia
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is SO good! I had this recipe saved in my box for few years and finally I made it for the Thanksgiving this year. Everyone at the party couldn't stop eating it. It's so easy to make and it looks so beautiful! I made few small changes - I used about 2 cups of spinach and about a half cup of basil, I was afraid that 1 cup of basil will give a very strong taste. Will definitively make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Delicious ... a very nice change from your normal cheese ball and a lot easier to make than it sounds or looks ... Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
WONDERFUL! My children even loved it. Thanks for this GREAT fresh spring recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
It is very true that this spread is full of robust flavor and is not for those who like mild dishes. Use with plain crackers (I used Triscuits) since the strong flavors could not pair well with a flavored cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Love this. Had at a party for two year olds. The mom's and kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Goat cheese is not a favorite of our friends and family, so I substitute ricotta and add a bit of garlic powder to it, or use flavored cream cheese and add 4 extra ounces of it to fill out the desired amount. I eliminate the salt because other ingredients are already a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
WOW! What a great hit. I love this spread. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
WOW!! First of all, I couldn't find sundried tomato paste so i just took some sundried tomatos that were packed in oil and I ran them through the food processor until they turned into a paste consistency. I also made this 24 hours in advance and it was WONDERFUL! All of my guests raved about it, and it was so simple to prepare. This would be perfect for Christmas with the bright green and red interior. Also, since the flavors are so concentrated you don't need a lot of the spread for each cracker so it really goes a long way. This is a wonderful party appetizer because you can make it so far in advance and then all you have to do before the party is put it on a plate and open a box of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States