Basil Parmesan Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Excellent. I used reduced fat cream cheese, and divided some of the parmesan to be whipped in with the feta and cream cheese. I brought this to a family outing, and it was very popular. I was skeptical about whether or not it would be a hit. It was easy to make! I made it as written, except that I made more layers to make it look even prettier. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This dip was the hit of the party...i was worried about the presentation but it came out perfectly! i had no sun dried tomato paste so i took a jar of sun-dried tomatoes and some tomato paste and put it through the food processor. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Very good and very easy -- it got rave reviews. I used sun-dried tomato pesto (I think Classico makes it, with the jarred pasta sauce) -- and I agree with other posters -- just wouldn't be the same without the sundried tomato tase. Would definitely make again. I served it with bagel chips and brushetta toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We served this at my sister's bridal shower and it was a hit! It was easy and tastes as good as it smells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I've made this numerous times and always get rave reviews. The presentation itself is wonderful. I follow this one as is - no substitutions are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I love this recipe. It's pretty and tasty and easy to prepare. One substitution we like is to put chopped, roasted red peppers in place of the tomato layer. Also, chopped walnuts pressed on the outside kind of dress it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Wow!! I don't measure the basil/spinach so I usually end up with more mixture - I break out the cheese to make two balls and serve with the small round rice crackers from trader joes. My guests ask for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Ach - who'd want to mix everything together? It'd look and taste a sorry mess! Made as directed, it looks and tastes spectacular, and is easy easy easy. It's not for wimpy palates though: the flavours are robust! I made 1 1/2 times the amount of cheese mixture and used a little more of the tomato to yield two bowls. A note to people who are doubtful about the sundried tomatoe: even though ordinary tomato paste is indeed cheaper, the flavour can in no way compared to sundried tomato paste or pate. Dry-packed (ie. in a packet, not in a jar in oil) dried tomatoes are CHEAP, and you're far better off using those. Simply place them in a bowl, cover with boiling water, allow to soak until soft and swollen, then drain and wizz in the food processor with good olive oil, oregano, garlic, and salt and pepper, and a few olives and/or capers if you like. Extremely delicious, inexpensive, and better than anything you could buy - particularly ordinary tomato paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I just made this to chill overnight, and I already know I am going to LOVE it! I couldn't find sun dried tomato paste so I used sun dried tomato pesto instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I was at first worried that it wouldn't pop out of the bowl properly but I've made it 3 times without a problem! I've never been able to find sundried tomato paste, but I just cut them up or throw them in the food processor before I make the pesto. I think I might make my next version without them altogether, because they are expensive and their taste is always overpowered by the garlic anyway. I serve this spread with cut French bread or baguette and it's always a big hit (I add extra garlic too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States