Basil Pan-Seared Scallops over Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Just made this last night and it was really great. However we followed the comment on the top and added some spinach, roasted tomatoes and a little bit of mozzarella it probably would have been a little bland without it. Just greased a skillet with some olive oil and tossed in the spinach and tomatoes (we were lazy and bought them pre roasted) and cooked until the spinach was slightly wilted and added to the cooked pasta. Next time I'm going to try fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I found this to be very bland. I used bay scallops because that's all I had. I added some oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes with some of the oil to add a bit more flavor. If I had some parmesan, I would have added that too give give some more flavor. I think this is a good basis for a scallop and pasta recipe to build onto. Use this recipe as a starting point, a recipe to emphasize on and add things that you think would compliment and improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made my own variation of this, using what I had on hand: small bay scallops, quinoa linguini pasta, and the addition of some white wine, broccoli, and grape tomatoes. I sauteed the scallops with wine, butter, a little olive oil, lemon juice, minced garlic, salt, pepper, basil, a little cilantro, and onion powder. After they were cooked, I set them aside, deglazed the pan with more wine, and sauteed some frizen broccoli using the same ingredients as above. Once the broccoli was tender I added a few grape tomatoes, let them cook through, and added the scallops back into the pan with the veg. Severed over qunion linquini. I thought this was really tasty and will definitely make again. I think it would have been just as good using the original recipe if you have the items on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH OIL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I think this turned out delicious but not sure why so many bowls used in the directions; The butter w/lemon wont sear them, it will only saute them; you'll need to sear them in just oil or butter first (I used hot olive oil) and then add the lemon in later; I tried it the directions way and it didn't work! I think the texture is better with a little crust on them. I didn't want to waste the marinate so I added it in the sauce for more lemon flavor; I also added some fresh basil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Instead of pasta, I made a bed of wilted spinach and artichoke hearts and placed the scallops on top. This is the same meal that I had at one of Seattle's nicer restaurants that cost $175.00 for two. Although not quite as tasty as the restaurant scallops, it was certainly a close second for a fraction of the price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was a nice, light dinner I made tonight. I added extra garlic, and next time I think I'll cut back on the oil just a bit. Thanks for the recipe, Grace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by apainter0703
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Delicious! My husband and I loved it! I used rotini instead of farfalle and used fresh basil instead of dried. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
It had no flavor. As much as I love scallops, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I'll definitely be making this again. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I had lemon basil on hand instead of regular basil. I'll try it w/ regular basil next time. It was easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States