Basil Pan-Seared Scallops over Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I'm not great with measuring but I did make some changes. First I took out the oil, and did not place the scallops in a bowl with seasonings. Just cooked them in butter, extra garlic and browned them. Keep the lemon out - an earlier reviewer is correct, the scallops won't brown. I added about a T of the basil. After cooking the scallops I put them aside and I added some wine (about 1/4 c) to deglaze. Then I added asparagus tips to the pan. After about 4-5 min, I added the scallops back to the pan. I melted the remaining butter (only used 7 Tlbs) and the lemon. Poured this over the bow tie pasta, added parmesan cheese, mixed, then added the scallops and more parmesan cheese. Chopped up some fresh parsley on top. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
very easy taste like were in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvpbcs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did this and it only took around 30 to 40min total. About 15 to 20 minutes to cook the past, and about 10 minutes to cook the scallops. All the rest is easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leleryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These were excellent. Made on 6/11/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Do you think that if I didn't put garlic in it that it would affect the taste a lot. Its great but I'm just not big on grlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was delicious! To make it healthier I used whole wheat pasta, fresh garlic, fresh basil, margarine, and I added chopped roma tomatoes. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
The recipe is 5 star! However, next time I will use the bigger and less fishy sea scallops. (I used frozen bay scallops ) :( This basic recipe could be used for any kind of fish, shellfish, or even chicken. The fresh basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I think that this recipe uses great ingredients however 9 tablespoons of butter is an absolutely ridiculous amount of butter that no one on a diet or not should be eating in one serving. I would completely delete it from the recipe and substitute it with EVOO and if you crave a little bit of savory calories, add a touch of cream to give it a bit of a different texture and look that can fool the biggest butter lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was a delicious dish. My family loved it. I added sun dried julian tomatoes and it gave it a very sweet taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langstoncl33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was amazing. I was afraid that I would burn the scallops as the basil was really browning quickly, but it turned out delicious. The only changes I made were omitting 1/4 cup of the oil and using fresh basil in the sauce. Also served with shaved Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States