Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe was too sweet on my first try. I cut the sugar to half and it turned out great. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was very tart and not good. I think next time I will be adding more sweetness to the mix. But it did freeze up for me. Had good texture. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Refreshing! I like a reviewer's idea of using this as a drink mixer which makes me think that 3/4 c seeded/peeled cucumber (blended or pulverized) rather than lime juice, and would Also be light and refreshing, and, make a great mixer for a cucumber basil gin gimlet...I'm not even a fan of gin yet I Love a cucumber basil gimlet in summer, it's so light and refreshing ~ cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I found the flavors to be way too strong. I only used half of the simple syrup because others noted that it was too sweet--I think that would have been right had I added the whole thing. I ended up diluting it with at least another cup of water (more than the 1/2 cup I didn't add by not including the other half of the simple syrup. It made it a little better but still not enough to make it again. Something that may have affected it was that I juiced key limes and didn't use bottled juice. Maybe that would have diluted it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious!! Very unique and refreshing flavor, like a basil margarita. I tasted it when it was half frozen and it was a bit too sour for me, so I added a bit of agave nectar to sweeten it up. Rather than freezing, blending and refreezing, I just kept it in a tupperware and shook it up every couple hours to keep it from freezing solid. It takes much longer than 2 hours to freeze anyway, so this worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Found this recipe while looking for things to do with all the basil I had. Originally thought it to be an odd combination, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was absolutely amazing!!! Will definitely be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolynn Pearce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good one made it at my restaurant and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Yummy. If you want to impress your guests with something different and delicious, give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Really delicious! The only problem I had was that the amount in given in the recipe definitely was not enough for 8 people. I would double it if you are really feeding that many, because they will for sure want more than just a small scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This never quite froze for me--even after 2 days! Also, I didn't think that this recipe tasted very good with the basil, and also way too sweet, inleast for my taste! (-: well, those are my comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe_fanatic!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States