Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My family absolutely loves this recipe, even my 6 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I'm always looking for easy "meat" recipes to translate into vegetarian dishes that I can serve to my non-vegetarian family and this dish made the grade! I substituted Quorn naked cutlets and vegetable broth and this dish was completely finished by my entire family. That's pretty unheard of. I definitely agree with thickening the sauce up, just a bit, with a little cornstarch but it was superb other than that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is great. The only thing I changes was adding 1 T. cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The parmesan in the sauce makes for a pleasing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe was great! I did not have pimentos so I used bacon pieces. I also used a couple of drops of hot sauce. Will keep this recipe for when family comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Helena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Outstanding! Don't care for pimento peppers, so I substituted bacon. Yummy. This was the best recipe I've tried yet, and I've tried a lot of them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura August

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I've made this 3 or 4 times. I leave out the pimentos (cause I just don't like 'em) and sautee about 3 cloves of minced garlic in the butter before cooking the chicken. I use Italian bread crumbs for the coating. Also, I double the sauce. Great over Penne or thin spaghetti. I've gotten compliments and recipe requests each time I've made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Used hot peppers instead of pimentos. It was delicious! Update: This was even better as leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Very tasty! I reccomend grilling some sliced mushrooms in diced garlic and adding that to the white sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this dish. However, like others, I made some changes. Here are the changes I made and/or suggest: 1) Use either sun-dried tomatoes or roasted red bell peppers instead of pimentos. I used the roasted red peppers, but will probably use sun-dried tomatoes next time - personal taste preference. 2) Cut back on the Parmesan cheese; this recipe calls for too much. Also, add a little of the Parmesan cheese to the bread crumbs that you use to coat your chicken. 3) Add minced (finely chopped) garlic to the butter before you add your chicken. Be sure to have your heat on low when you add the garlic; if not, your garlic will burn and leave a bitter taste. 4) Also add salt - to taste - to the cream sauce. 5) After cooking the chicken on the stove top (if using pieces other than chicken breast), place the chicken in a warm oven and let it continue to cook while you prepare the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Excellent! I didn't have pimentos, so I diced half of a red bell pepper that I had, added a package of fresh mushrooms that I had, but other than that followed it exactly. It didn't need anything else, but I had those 2 things that I needed to use. It was excellent!! I served it over orzo pasta. I mixed half the sauce with the pasta, and then topped the pasta with the chicken, and then poured the remaining sauce over the chicken. Was soooo good and did look and taste like a restaurant cooked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States