Basil Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I didn't have any pimentos so I did without and it was delicious all the same. Also, I didn't have any cream, so I used half and half. My husband liked it too and my five year old even thought it was good - after he picked out the basil. And, since my husband doesn't really like breading on his chicken I skipped that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I did make some changes.....I hate pimiento, so I subbed sun-dried tomatoes. (2 or 3 oz worth- jarred in oil, but drained) I love em. I first made it breading the chicken, but since then I just brown it in the butter. (IMO, no use in breading) I mix everything else in a bowl & pour over. When a recipe calls for a small amount of chicken broth, I just use granules with water. I also usually just use some dried basil. (1 T) That is always on hand. And since Costco has those half gallons of half & half now, I use that instead of whipping cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe..I baked the chicken instead of frying and used almond flour to bread the chicken to make it gluten free. I also added a little almond flour to the sauce to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Easy and quick. Flavor is on mild side. We loved that! This we'll make again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocKey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Used egg instead of milk, steamed broccoli and 2 TBSP jarred jalapenos instead of pimento. HUGE hit! Added 1 tsp garlic powder to Italian Seasoned bread crumbs and doubled fresh basil. YUMMO!! Next time I'll serve over white rice...and may double sauce but not necessary if not serving over anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Made as instructed, and it was good, but not "wow." The one thing I wasn't totally crazy about was the breading on the chicken got soggy with the sauce on it. I'm not sure the chicken needs to be breaded. Next time I would add more flavors to the sauce as it was very mild. Definitely increase the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I posted the wrong photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
FANTASTIC, A HUGE HIT..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
we enjoyed this chicken, as it was definitely something different! super easy to make, although we didn't need nearly all of the sauce it made. this is something i would make only once in a great while, but for a change it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I changed the recipe slightly. I substituted capers for the pimentos and dipped my chicken which I seasoned in flour instead of breadcrumbs. I didnt see the point of the milk bath before dredging so I omitted that as well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States