Basil Chicken Ravioli Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Loved this one! It was a rough evening when I made this, I had 2 kids that needed to be picked up from activities, open house and a parents meeting that I had forgotten about. Luckily I had everything for this on hand so I thought I'd try it since its so quick. I used frozen ravioli I think it was an 11 oz package, homemade bacon bits and leftover cooked chicken. Dumped it all in the pan and let it simmer until it was done. I didn't use the full amount of half-and-half, just slowly added until it was the right consistency for out tastes. Also threw in some fresh grated Asiago cheese. I didn't have any fresh basil or parsley on hand so I topped with some green onion. Tasty, the family liked it and it was a dinner saver on a really hectic night. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is the third dish I've tried with the Progresso Recipe Starters and definitely the most impressive without changing the recipe too much. I did add 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, used freshly cooked crumbled bacon. I did sub lobster/ricotta ravioli for the 4 cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I really liked the sauce that this recipe makes...I thought it was a fantastic base. I did not add ravioli into the sauce...had run out of ravioli, so I simmered the sauce separately, and when done, served it over linguine. Slight changes: I added pieces of bacon into the sauce and melted tons of freshly grated parmesan cheese into it as well. It was amazing -- very restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I used to work at an Italian restaurant, and this recipe was very reminiscent of the Penne Carbonara dish that we sold there. I didn't add ravioli -- I simply served the sauce over penne noodles -- but the sauce was to die for! I was a bit concerned about the thickness of the sauce, but I let it simmer for a bit and then added a handful of cheese. Next time, I think I will try it with the ravioli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My hubby & I loved this recipe. We will definitely make it again. I used real bacon, crumbled, & added some Italian blend shredded cheese on top. Omitted the basil, parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was looking for a sauce for my cheese ravioli. This sauce was perfect and the taste is wonderful. I followed the recipe as is however let the sauce cook down a bit. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I sauted chicken tenderloins in a bit of the bacon drippings. I also added chopped onion and garlic to the chicken as it sauteed. Added the fresh chopped basil and s&p to taste at the end. (and skipped parmesan since I served it over rice). Husband and 16 year old son loved it. Served with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeepgirl5280

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good and very easy! I suggest melting some shredded parmesan directly into the sauce, as well as bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States