Basil Chicken Ravioli Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is the 3rd Progresso Recipe Starter that I've tried, and it was as thin as the other two. Since 1/2 cup of half-and-half was going into the recipe later, the first thing I did was cook the starter sauce down quite a bit and then add the chicken and ravioli. Next I added a good handful of parmesan to the sauce which GREATLY improved the flavor and thickened the sauce. Out of the can, the sauce was pretty bland, thin and really lacking basil flavor. I used fresh bacon and boneless chicken breast and FF half-and-half. The cooking method ultimately resulted in a pretty flavorful sauce, and we were happy with the meal but it took a lot more than 20 minutes to get it on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Loved this one! It was a rough evening when I made this, I had 2 kids that needed to be picked up from activities, open house and a parents meeting that I had forgotten about. Luckily I had everything for this on hand so I thought I'd try it since its so quick. I used frozen ravioli I think it was an 11 oz package, homemade bacon bits and leftover cooked chicken. Dumped it all in the pan and let it simmer until it was done. I didn't use the full amount of half-and-half, just slowly added until it was the right consistency for out tastes. Also threw in some fresh grated Asiago cheese. I didn't have any fresh basil or parsley on hand so I topped with some green onion. Tasty, the family liked it and it was a dinner saver on a really hectic night. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is the third dish I've tried with the Progresso Recipe Starters and definitely the most impressive without changing the recipe too much. I did add 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, used freshly cooked crumbled bacon. I did sub lobster/ricotta ravioli for the 4 cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I used to work at an Italian restaurant, and this recipe was very reminiscent of the Penne Carbonara dish that we sold there. I didn't add ravioli -- I simply served the sauce over penne noodles -- but the sauce was to die for! I was a bit concerned about the thickness of the sauce, but I let it simmer for a bit and then added a handful of cheese. Next time, I think I will try it with the ravioli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I really liked the sauce that this recipe makes...I thought it was a fantastic base. I did not add ravioli into the sauce...had run out of ravioli, so I simmered the sauce separately, and when done, served it over linguine. Slight changes: I added pieces of bacon into the sauce and melted tons of freshly grated parmesan cheese into it as well. It was amazing -- very restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Quick, easy, and delicious! My husband loved this recipe and it really only took 20 minutes. I used fat free half and added fresh spinach the last few minutes. The sauce was a little thin. I'll probably add frozen peas instead of spinach next time, but will definitely make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Yummy but super filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Very good meal, and easy too!!!! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Made this as stated for the kids with the exception of using my own grilled chicken since I didn't have what the recipe called for and it was very good especially for the ease. For the grown ups I sauteed some mushrooms, baby spinach, and roma tomatoes I had lurking around threatening to go bad. In the end all I had to do was toast some garlic bread for a complete meal. Will totally make this one again. Loved by the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good and very easy! I suggest melting some shredded parmesan directly into the sauce, as well as bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States