Basil Chicken over Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was a great recipe. I did make a few additions to add more flavor though. I used double the garlic and used a can of Hunt's Fire Roasted diced tomatoes instead of the regular tomatoes. Also, I added a hand full of mozzarella cheese & parmesan cheese just before I took it off the stove. I buttered the noodles (just a bit) before topping with the chicken mixture & it was delish! The family ate it all up! Already added to my recipe box:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
solid dish but definitely missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love this recipe and have made it a million times! Today however, I needed to make something quick and didn't have any basil on hand. So I made this recipe to the T except I replaced the fresh basil with 1T dried oregano and 1T dried Thyme. It came out AMAZING. I must say, I actually prefer it that way (but I also am not the biggest fan of basil to begin with). Anyway, thought I would share in case someone else didn't have basil on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A wonderfully light and quick dinner. Cooked marinated chicken first. Then removed from pan and followed receipe. I used fresh basil and followed the advice of other reviewers and used three garlic cloves and added chicken broth and oregano to the sauce. I also added red bell peppers and used farfalle pasta. Served with french bread and salad. All the flavors blended great together for a nice light meal. My daughter who normally leaves her vegetables behind on her plate, ate every bite. She was wiping the plate clean with her bread. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
My family loves this dish. I've made it with canned tomatoes, and dried basil, and have found that it tastes better if you use fresh tomatoes and basil, but that's just a personal preference. The flavors are great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was a light and delicious dish - a really good combination of flavors. I, per other reviewer suggestions, tinkered with the ingredients a bit: upped the garlic to 3 cloves, used around 1/2 cup fresh basil, added in some oregano, garlic powder, black pepper, and red pepper flakes. I didn't have pre-cooked chicken, so I cubed and sauteed the chicken with the onion and garlic (and spices) until cooked, added in the chopped tomatoes and a little bit of chicken stock to make is "sauce-y" Simmered for 15-20 minutes and everything was delicious! A nice little kick from the hot sauce (used a habanero sauce) and wonderful fresh flavors. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Fantastic! I couldn't believe the awesome flavor of this dish. It is very easy to make, not time- consuming, and the combination of ingredients make the dish just right. If you don't have fresh basil on hand, you can always use dried basil leaves (which was what I ended up using), as they created a wonderful aroma and flavor. I will definitely be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent! I used all fresh ingredients, so prep was slightly time consuming. It was well worth it, this dish was very fresh tasting and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Caswell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Not bad. I found this to be a tad bland for my liking (if you are looking for a hearty pasta entree, this is NOT it!), but beyond that, what REALLY stood out to me was the bright, fresh flavors and genius simplicity of this dish. The thermometer nearly reached 90 degrees this weekend. I couldn't have found a better weather-appropriate recipe - not only is this light on the stomach, it's made with seasonally available ingredients and can easily be prepared on the stovetop (thus eliminating the need to use my oven in this heat wave). NOTE: For a nice change of pace, shrimp would be FANTASTIC in this (and a better protein option than chicken, IMHO). Shrimp are delicate, light and fresh and would be a perfect substitute if you have them handy. Just add a crusty loaf of bread and some good wine, and you're are set! All in all, this was yummy, but lacking the WOW factor I was looking for. Thanks anyways, Ms. Mercadante! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was amazing!!!!! I don't typically comment on stuff, but it was THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States