Basil Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Good recipe and easy but definitely needs spicing up. I add black olives, more garlic and sundried tomatoes. Now this, to us, gives it enough kick and certainly hot pepper flakes could be used. Definitely use fresh basil if possible and then it is in the gourmet category. Thanks for the basic recipe and a delight to work on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This was very good, good flavor. The sauce was not what I thought, I had to add a lot more cheese to get it to thicken and I wasn't sure if I was to cook it with all the fixin's or separate from the fixin's. So I cooked it with half the fixin's and then poured over the remainder. Either way it was good, but as one reviewer stated it doesn't reheat well so eat it all the first day. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
It's definitely a good base, and it was convenient because I already had all the ingredients, but it was sort of bland and definitely needed something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made many of the changes recommended (mushrooms, red pepper, broccoli, fresh basil) and it still was missing something. I think more parm cheese would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
You're cooking this because you want to clear things in the fridge when you are about to move right? Or it's the simplest but tasty thing you can make with the fewest ingredients. It works really well and you can always add things to the recipe, I added sun-dried tomatoes to it and it taste great. It is basic but you can do anything to it and still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Quite tasty, but a bit bland. Needed a bit more salt. I used whole milk with some flour to make the sauce since I didn't have cream (boiled to thicken) and made twice the amount as suggested by others. I also added frozen broccoli for nutrition & color. Will make again, but may cut the recipe down so there aren't as many leftovers for a smaller family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
It's a good base recipe with potential for a lot of additions. I added orange bell pepper, mushrooms, onion and broccoli, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great easy quick meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe that has become a staple in our home. I can't even count the number of times I've made it. One critique is that it needs salt! The original recipe doesn't add any salt and it definitely needs some; it's completely bland without it. Add to taste and voila! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States