Basil Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made quite a few changes to this recipe: first off, I used vegetarian ground crumbles instead of beef. I dumped in a fair amount of dried basil, hot sauce, some garlic powder, and black pepper. I omitted the Worcestershire. I cooked it in a skillet rather than on the grill, and topped my burger with a slice of mozzarella, caramelized onions, and a leaf of romaine lettuce. I served it all on an everything bagel slathered with spicy mayonnaise (mayo + desired amount of tabasco). it was mighty delicious, and very satisfying. thanks so much for this recipe, it was a great jumping-off point for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Great recipe, but I always recommend fresh spices. I also added some sundried tomatoes, an egg and breadcrumbs, and mixed about half a cup of mayo with about a tbsp and a half of pesto for the spread. Top that with some swiss cheese and purple onion... and YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great burger. The worcestershire was the first taste I noticed, but then the basil came through. Nice blend of flavor, I enjoyed. I'll make this again. I made this stovetop, but I'm sure over the charcoal would be so much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
A great twist on regular boring burgers. I followed some other user suggestions: 1) I used about 1/4 cup of fresh basil instead of dried, 2) I added in about 1/3 cup or so of minced onion, and 3) I topped them with tomato, then mozzarella on top and let it melt for a minute or so. I also served it on the side with pasta mixed with sauteed spinach. Very delicious, and I'll certainly try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I used about 1 3/4 pounds meat and added an egg and 1/8 cup unseasoned bread crumbs. I also used proportionately more worcestershire sauce and less dried basil because I used fresh basil as a topping. With a lettuce leaf and mayo it made a great burger! This is a keeper recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Good flavor. Instead of garlic salt, used a garlic seasoning mix. We ate with mozzarella cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very juicy. Next time I would probably add more garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I doubled this recipe, make sure your people like basil. My people do! We went with the suggested mozzarella and tomato slice and most liked it. I thought they were a little dry but not horrible dry. Next time I will try with mozzarella and a italian sauce or paste as a topper (not a fan of tomatos). Good burger, tasty change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Wow!! These were delicious. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and stuffed them with mozz cheese. My husband and I loved them. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
If you like basil as I do, this is an excellent grilled burger. I did however reduce the amount of basil to one tablespoon. A friend of mine, opal~/~dragonfly from Our Table Talk dot com in her review and picture suggested topping it with sauteed mushrooms,melted Mozzarella and tomato. Since you have to top your burger with something, I followed her suggestion and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States