Basil and Sun-Dried Tomato Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Be careful with the basil, too much and the taste changes dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I like this, but the family was not a huge fan. I make a similar dip with bacon (and real tomatoes) and it reminded me of that dip, so I kept expecting bacon. I love the fresh basil taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I added more basil and lemon juice, and left out the sun dried tomatoes. It was a BIG hit with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used this as a sandwich spread like another reviewer suggested. I cooked some seasoned chicken breast and sliced it. Then I pan toasted some sourdough, put the chicken on it with sliced of provolone. Then added lettuce and onion with the spread and yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was a hit in my house. I puréed the sun dried tomatoes to get a smooth consistency and used dry basil. As I filled the dish for the second time I realized I had forgotten the lemon juice so I added a bit. It helped cut the richness but it was fine without it. Thanks, Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this yesterday for a snack dip. I mixed up 1/3 of the recipe and got about 1/2 cup of dip. After I made it, I realized I forgot the lemon juice. However, it tasted fine. For the fresh basil I used 1 tsp. of dried as a subtitute. I used lite mayo and sour cream with no problems. I wasn't sure what would be good to dip with. I used some pretzels and that was tasty. The dip looked somewhat like the classic vegetable dips but had a very slight pizza after taste with pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is so good! I spread it on panini sandwiches with grilled chicken & provolone cheese! Yummy! Mixed it all in my mini food processor. We also didn't let it sit for an hour. We served it right away & it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAREC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I absolutely loved this! I've been looking for a good dip recipe, and this was it. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States