Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I don't have a blender or a food processor, but that's okay! I love a chunky, thick hummus. I thought the liquid measurements were perfect. It was a very unique combination of flavours. Delicious on some toasted crusty bread with a side of tomato soup. As a hint for those also mashing this by hand or with limited tools: do not chop up the garlic. Take a small plastic bag (for sandwiches, for example), put in a clove of garlic, and smash that sucker until it's nice and pulpy. Mashed/pressed garlic carries a stronger, fuller flavour than chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enronadon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
4 stars because I changed it. I used cider vinegar instead of balsamic and LOVED it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Awesome! It was gone in a day. I eyeballed all the ingredients, didn't measure exactly. Would be great to mix and match different herbs and seasonings...I'll definitely be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a basil hummus. This needs quite a bit of liquid added to this in order to get it to blend to the right smoothness. I like the taste of the fresh basil, but this hummus needed some work. I did end up adding a dash of cumin and a good amount of lemon and a tablespoon or so of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I bought a bag of pita chips and needed something to dip them in. Plus my basil plant needed a bit of a trim. This recipie was a winner! I had all the ingredients on hand and it whipped up pretty quickly. There is definitely not enough liquid in this recipe, though. I put in closer to 4 or 5 tablespoons of olive oil and twice as much balsamic and soy, and still streamed into the food processor probably close to 1/4 cup of water. (I never measure anything..) I also added a splash of lemon juice and some red pepper flakes because as written, this is definitely missing *something*. I am definitely happy I decided to make this, it was the perfect dip to my chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This hummus is absolutely amazing! I added more olive oil because it was a little too dry for my liking, but an amazing and flavorful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is awesome, I made this for a vegetarian friend, I am not a hummus lover but loved this hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Didn't really care for this. Others liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Yum! This is a fantastic hummus-type dip that whips up in about 5 minutes. Over time I have made some adjustments to suit my particular tastes: I add 2 cloves garlic, 3 tablespoons olive oil (this makes it very rich, and gives it a great texture), 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar, and 2 teaspoons soy sauce. I also add a few squirts of lemon juice. The most important advice I can about this recipe is to make sure you use a *packed* 1/2 cup of basil. Measure the basil until it fills the 1/2 cup totally packed down. This gives it the perfect basil-y flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
meh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States