Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
very dry even w/add'l lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was so unbelievably easy and it came out delicious. I added a dash of extra balsamic vinegar because I love the zing it provides. Serving this tonight with a sliced baguette, and a caprese salad made from home-grown tomatoes, home-grown basil and my first-ever home-made Mozzarella cheese. I think it will be a perfect summer supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have to say I was iffy about making home-made hummus. I thought it wouldn't taste that good but all I can say is WOW! I've never been able to eat more than a pinch of hummus because of being allergic to citrus (lemon, lime, etc). I left out the vinegar, pepper and salt, but added fresh pesto. Since I didn't have any vinegar at home, I just added more olive oil until it was at the consistency I'm used to. My dad likes hummus and his face lit up when he tried it. Thank you for sharing this recipe! IT'S AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Pretty good recipe. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Didn't have fresh basil, but I used about 3-4 heaping tablespoons of pre-made pesto and it worked perfectly. This recipe needs liquid and acid so I used a lot more vinegar and olive oil than the recipe called for and added some water and plenty of garlic. Absolutely yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Wow! Had lots of basil from the garden and was in the mood for humus which lead me to this recipe. Did it exactly as outlined, but garnished with lots of fresh diced tomatoes from the garden as well. It was a hit. Gobbled up within minutes by spouse and kids within minutes. Kids want to make more to take in their school lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I needed a quick dish to bring to a picnic, and happened to have all the right ingredients! Like many other reviewers, I doubled the vinegar, soy sauce, and EVOO for more flavor and smoother texture. And being a pesto freak, I used a packed full cup of fresh basil. OK, so I didn't follow the recipe exactly (I hardly ever do), but thanks, fantastic dan, for combining these two fantastic spreads!! BTW, I made homemade tortilla chips to go with this ... yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boisbrule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brule, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I have another favorite hummus recipe but was looking for a different recipe to incorporate my prolific basil. This is amazing! I stuck pretty close to the recipe but added a little water & tahini to loosen the texture a bit. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was a great hummus!!! I actually added 2 tsp garlic,2 tsp olive oil and doubled the balsamic and the soy sauce. It was great but you have to double it for a bolder taste if thats what your looking for. But overall- nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I had a huge amount of fresh basil from my herb garden, so I thought I'd try this out. So glad I did! Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States