Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very nice, but a bit dry... consider adding some more oil and/or actual basil. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I made this for a bunch of people who had never tried hummus before and everyone loved it! I used fresh basil and a little more oil than was called for and it was perfect! We served it on garlic toasted pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Didn't have fresh basil but did have some pesto that I had prepared with fresh basil. I too thought that the hummus needed more oil to spread well and I also added a tsp or so of lemon juice to brighten the fresh taste. Blended in feta cheese by hand before serving. I took this to an office luncheon and received compliments. Will make this again once I have an abundance of basil from the garden...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I added a bit more garlic (because I love it!), a bit more oil and vinegar, and a tuch of really hot water to soften it up just a bit. I can't wait for my friends to try it for our Canada Day celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Needs alot more liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
LOVE THIS! I did add extra olive oil and some lemon juice (also extra garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I love both pesto and hummus. Just add a little extra liquid and make sure your food processor is up to snuff. Serve with pita, chips, or celery sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was excellent! I doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar for extra flavor. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is absolutely delicious, especially served on a slice of homemade french bread!!! I did have a few changes to the recipe, however. First of all, I did not have any balsamic vinegar on hand, so I used red wine vinegar instead. Secondly, while pureeing the mixture, it became very dry, so I added water until it was the desired consistency. Other than those two changes, the recipe was fantastic! I made this for Christmas, and everyone loved it's amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Love it! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I squeezed half a lemon into it. I make hummus a lot and this one's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States