Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Came out a little thick- could probably use more oil. The flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Pretty good recipe...flavor-wise. It defintiely needed more olive oil, and I added some more balsamic vinegar. Loved the flavor combinations though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Starkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was soooooo good! I added more olive oil, one more clove of garlic and the juice of a whole lemon. I loved the garlic and basil flavor in this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
You have to add liquid for this to work and it's quite bland. Lemon juice helps a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very easy and tastes great! A bit lighter than some that I've made. I added a tbsp of veggie broth to help mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was my first attempt at making hummus. I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I skipped it. I added a splash of lemon juice, and some paprika (because I love paprika!). I think I added a lot more olive oil than 1 tbsp because it seemed awful dry. Overall it had a really good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was good and quick. I do agree that lemon juice is necessary. Served with celery and carrots, was a yummy & healthy option next to the other high-fat appetizers that I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Love it! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I squeezed half a lemon into it. I make hummus a lot and this one's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is absolutely delicious, especially served on a slice of homemade french bread!!! I did have a few changes to the recipe, however. First of all, I did not have any balsamic vinegar on hand, so I used red wine vinegar instead. Secondly, while pureeing the mixture, it became very dry, so I added water until it was the desired consistency. Other than those two changes, the recipe was fantastic! I made this for Christmas, and everyone loved it's amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was excellent! I doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar for extra flavor. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States