Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
First time making homemade stuffing, we'll never go back to store bought! Very easy to make. A bit salty so we didn't add it the second time around...I think the sausage makes it salty enough. We also added more chix broth since it came out a bit dry the first time. Second time around was perfect, so yummy!! Family enjoyed it! Kimberly, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is an awesome stuffing recipe and I've been using this for a while now. I season the sausage with sage as it's cooking and also add shredded carrots to the mix. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe is very tasty if you add your own seasonings(which I think it needed more) and also it needed 1 more egg to help bind it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I really liked this stuffing. I liked mine mushy so I did use a can of the broth instead of just 1 cup. I used a bag a seasoned bread cubes and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving with a couple modifications - instead of two loaves of white bread, I used one loaf and a bag of cornbread stuffing mix. I also used a sage flavored pork sausage. It came out great! I will be using this one again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving for 9 people. Every bit of it was GONE! I didn't stuff the turkey so took other people's advice and added more chicken broth. Midway through I stirred it all up because the bottom seemed to be soggy and the top was crunchy. I thought it was good but seemed to lack something. Everyone else seemed to love it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very easy full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
instead of using 1 lb of sausage, I use 1/2 lb of sage flavored sausage, delete the sage addition, and put in 1 c. of broasted chicken that we have the night before thanksgiving so I don't have to cook. the other half of the sausage, I make sausage with gravy and eggs for breakfast the morning of the Holiday because I like to have a dinner atmosphere with the candles being a great essence of evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I used this recipe as a guide, but made a lot of substitutions with things I had on hand. I did use the sausage and celery, but I also added a small apple, diced. I only had one small loaf of bread available (oh, and I took another commenter's advice and cut the pieces into cubes while the bread was still frozen -- works great!), so I made cornbread in a large cast-iron pan (which made the cornbread thinner.) Then, I cut up about 3/4 of the cornbread and added it to the mix. For spices, I used parsley, rosemary, sage -- and some chopped-up fresh cilantro I had. I ended up with way more than I could stuff into the turkey, so the rest went into a 9x12 pan, doused with some more chicken broth, and baked for about 30 minutes. Everybody loved both the stuffed and pan varieties. I was really surprised at how good the cilantro was -- and how fragrant. I'll be making this one again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
We really enjoyed this stuffing. I made it the day ahead (using fresh herbs, mushrooms, and quite a bit more broth than the recipe called for) and then reheated it the next day for our Thanksgiving meal. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States