Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe is very tasty if you add your own seasonings(which I think it needed more) and also it needed 1 more egg to help bind it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I really liked this stuffing. I liked mine mushy so I did use a can of the broth instead of just 1 cup. I used a bag a seasoned bread cubes and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving with a couple modifications - instead of two loaves of white bread, I used one loaf and a bag of cornbread stuffing mix. I also used a sage flavored pork sausage. It came out great! I will be using this one again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving for 9 people. Every bit of it was GONE! I didn't stuff the turkey so took other people's advice and added more chicken broth. Midway through I stirred it all up because the bottom seemed to be soggy and the top was crunchy. I thought it was good but seemed to lack something. Everyone else seemed to love it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very easy full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
instead of using 1 lb of sausage, I use 1/2 lb of sage flavored sausage, delete the sage addition, and put in 1 c. of broasted chicken that we have the night before thanksgiving so I don't have to cook. the other half of the sausage, I make sausage with gravy and eggs for breakfast the morning of the Holiday because I like to have a dinner atmosphere with the candles being a great essence of evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I used this recipe as a guide, but made a lot of substitutions with things I had on hand. I did use the sausage and celery, but I also added a small apple, diced. I only had one small loaf of bread available (oh, and I took another commenter's advice and cut the pieces into cubes while the bread was still frozen -- works great!), so I made cornbread in a large cast-iron pan (which made the cornbread thinner.) Then, I cut up about 3/4 of the cornbread and added it to the mix. For spices, I used parsley, rosemary, sage -- and some chopped-up fresh cilantro I had. I ended up with way more than I could stuff into the turkey, so the rest went into a 9x12 pan, doused with some more chicken broth, and baked for about 30 minutes. Everybody loved both the stuffed and pan varieties. I was really surprised at how good the cilantro was -- and how fragrant. I'll be making this one again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
We really enjoyed this stuffing. I made it the day ahead (using fresh herbs, mushrooms, and quite a bit more broth than the recipe called for) and then reheated it the next day for our Thanksgiving meal. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I grew up eating this stuffing on holidays. Since I do not stuff the bird I vary by adding the sausage uncooked and baking for 30-45 minutes. Either way it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Fantastic...easy to do but I cheated with 2 lbs of herb garlic croutons. I had to add a another carton of chicken broth to compensate. This was my first attempt at stuffing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGTHAI
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States